Life as I know it

My Favorites!

There comes a point in time in your life when you realize that a lot of the people who you know… or work with, just really are not your friends. Or maybe they are but they have a lower status in the friend-o-meter. You talk to them sometimes… you facebook each other… and sometimes occasionally you meet up for coffee or for a meal. Then there are friends that no matter the distance… no matter the amount of time you’ve been apart, whenever you get around them it’s like things have never changed. You laugh at everything, reminisce about moments that still get you giggling, and really care about what is going on in their lives. [if you don’t have friends like this, I am truly sorry]

Me, Rachel and Amanda... 3 amigas!

I am extremely fortunate to have friends like this. I met them through the photography program at my local college.

Because I had waited so long taking classes I ended up being in a first year group [while technically I was second year] that to be honest I was really afraid of. I didn’t know how they would take me, and thankfully to a great surprise to me, I was accepted without any question. I realized more and more how much we had in common. Not only did we have a love of photography, it was like we had known each other for years. Being in the program made our friendship stronger and then graduating together felt like an amazing accomplishment that we were all so proud of completing, and knowing that we did it together to push one another to do better work. We even got matching film roll tattoos.

We graduated in July, and have not seen one another in a LONG time. We finally got together last night and had dinner. Again, it was like we were still in class together [we all even complained about how much we miss school]. We went to Target and shopped, then went to Dunkin Donuts for some coffee.

Amanda and myself have found out that we probably should have been friends a lot sooner. We had the same circle of friends, but did not know one another. Probably went to the same elementary school [going to need to find those old yearbooks to comfirm it]. Worked for the same company, missed working with each other by a year. It’s so crazy how small the world really is.

I am so thankful to have such wonderful friends like Amanda and Rachel. [Again, if you don’t have friends like mine… you should go find some. They make life a little more carefree.]

Leave a Reply

