Ramble Ramble Ramble

Recovery from Black Friday

Yeah… it’s been a while. Black Friday has come and gone, which means that Thanksgiving has also come and gone. It doesn’t even feel like I had a chance to celebrate the holiday. But in the world of retail, holidays mean nothing when you have to work them. Hey, time and a half is nice when the paycheck comes but to look back and realize that you didn’t even get the chance to be thankful for spending time with your family because you were too busy working and trying to find time to rest, really puts a damper on holiday cheerfulness.

Another thing that you realize when you work retail during the holidays is how often people expect things to be cheaper and when they don’t get a good deal, they bitch and complain about it. I’m sorry my company doesn’t think that $90 jacket should be $20. I have no say in what they price things, so please for the love of all things holy, stay the heck out of my face. It amazes me how much people just want want want. I don’t think they understand that this is supposed to be the season for being with family and celebrating life and the life of the lord. For anyone who knows me I rarely throw in religious themes but in this case, that’s what Christmas is technically about. We’ve forgotten our values.

It’s sickening to go to work everyday and hear other employees complain about being at work. Yes, I have my days… I’ve been working my tail off these past few weeks because its my job and I need the money. If you don’t want to be there… clock out and go home. Especially if you think you are better than your job. I’m being a hypocrite because just today I said that I didn’t want to be there… but to have all these days of working long hours, doing actual physical work and no day off… you’d be a little cranky as well. But a lot of people don’t realize that the things you are doing is YOUR JOB. You do it because that’s what you are supposed to do. It’s your responsibility. Jobs mean nothing to people anymore. They don’t show up for their shifts because they just didn’t feel like going to work. What kind of values have your parents taught you? I just don’t understand. Hard work is non-existent to some people.

I suppose the bitching could end now… especially since I’m ready for the Christmas season to cheer me up.

I want to be Frosty the Snowman happy!!

Oh how I miss my childhood.

For once in my life, I don’t want anything for Christmas. Well I take that back… what I really want is a peace of mind. Silly thing to think about. I got the one thing that I’ve wanted for years and that is my husband. Now… everything just feels like stuff. I find myself buying him clothes and seeing stuff that I want to get him. Rarely do I think about buying myself things like I did before. I guess the responsibility to be a good wife has changed me.

I have noticed that one of the things about me is that Christmas time actually makes me sad. Mainly for the reasons I was talking about above. It truly is hard to enjoy the holidays. I try to make the best of it… sometimes I sit on the deserted beach and just try to clear my mind of what makes me angry because I don’t want to be that person anymore. I have no reason to be that person. Sometimes I also find myself randomly tearing up and being upset over nothing. Ronald would just say that I’m being a girl, but really this holiday seems to get a little harder to be happy about every year. Especially in these past few years and even more this year when my uncle and grandmother passed away in May.

So I will take my little therapy of Christmas movies and Christmas music because lets face it… I’ll take a made up happy Christmas over a miserable one. Not to mention… I’m still a child at heart and still want to believe that miracles happen around Christmas time.

Leave a Reply

