Books I've Read

Demon Girl | Penelope Fletcher

Overview

Rae Wilder has problems. Plunged into a world of dark magic, fierce creatures and ritual sacrifice, she is charged with a guarding a magical amulet. Rae finds herself beaten up, repeatedly, and forced to make a choice: to live and die human, or embrace her birth-right and wield magics that could turn her into something wicked, a force of nature nothing can control. -Barnes & Noble

So I don’t know why but when I finished this book, it made me a little angry. I kept thinking to myself, what does this storyline/plot remind me of? Oh that’s right, House of Night by P.C. Cast. Instead of vampires running a muck, it’s fairies… sound intimidating? Not really. However, there is a vampire in the storyline… shocker! The love triangles of this fairy girl named Rae, who is the main character, is in constant battles and betrayals to herself and those she “loves.” She’s “special.” Aren’t they all? But for the life of me, even though it reminds me of House of Night, I’m still intrigued to see where it goes. [Yes, I’ve already bought the second book, Demon Day. I will justify it by saying it was only $2.99]

We will see how the rest of the story line goes, and hope that it does not get drawn out and boring.

On a side note, if anyone has a Nook Color… do you like the new way they have designed the shop? I, personally, hate it. I went to search for the next book, Demon Day, to buy and it kept saying that there were no results. It even said that for the author. They clearly have her listed if I’ve got the first book. I had to go into my library and click on her name that way and then the store part came up with the summary for the Demon Girl, then had to go to the book suggestions area at the bottom to buy the second book of the series. Unless I’m doing something wrong, which I doubt I am, it should be able to do a regular search with actual results.

Come on Barnes & Noble, you should be bringing your A game, not this crap!

One thought on “Demon Girl | Penelope Fletcher

Leave a Reply

