Books I've Read

Dead Run | Erica Spindler

Overview

“I’m in trouble, Liz. I’ve uncovered something.…They’re watching.…”

That panicked message on her answering machine is the last time Liz Ames hears from her sister Rachel, pastor of Paradise Christian Church in Key West, Florida.

Compelled to uncover the truth about her sister’s disappearance, she heads to Key West. Within hours of her arrival a successful banker jumps to his death. Then a teenage girl whom Rachel was counseling is found brutally murdered. The ritualistic style of the killing is hauntingly similar to that used by the notorious “New Testament” serial killer—now on death row.

Could the teen’s murder be related to Rachel’s disappearance? Is a copycat killer at work? And why do the police refuse to help?

For answers, Liz turns to Rick Wells, a former Miami cop who worked the fringes of the “New Testament” investigation. Together they peel away layers of deception to reveal a terrifying adversary—and the unspeakable evil at the heart of this island paradise.

Just finished this book… literally like 20 minutes ago! I have to say, I’m pretty surprised by how much I liked it. It read like a lifetime movie or an episode from a criminal show. It was such a quick read. I have to kind of kick myself because I was reading this and Demon Girl at the same time. Which Demon Girl ended up catching my attention a little more, so when I came back to finish this book I lost the back story and had to start from scratch at remembering why the things were happening at the point where I picked it up again. I could have just started at the beginning but I knew I could remember most of what happened. One of the things I liked the most about the book is that it wasn’t as obvious who the killer/killers were. There were lots of finger pointing on who it could have been. And at the end, when all the characters were finally realizing who the killer/killers was, it really was a surprise!

It’s not overly expensive either. On BarnesandNoble.com the paperback version is $7.99 and the Nook Book version is $5.80. I’m sure you can find it cheaper elsewhere. I got mine at an outlet store for $4. So it’s a cheap book and a good read if you like crime novels.

Leave a Reply

