Books I've Read

A Lion Among Men

So it’s happened again, another book started but not finished… not even making it to the second chapter. My great friend [huge book enthusiast] had posted a few days ago about book series and whether or not they are a curse or a blessing. [Check out the post here: Brilliantly Novel, show her some love too :D] And with this book, it was a curse for me.

I’m  one of those people who don’t read books until all the books in a series are out because if it’s a series that I like, I’m not going to want to stop reading it until there is a clear and definite ending. Now, although this book by Gregory Maguire is a complete series… it’s been a few years since I’ve read the first two books of the Wicked Series which are Wicked [obviously] and Son of a Witch.

So when I went to try to pick up and read it… I just could not do it. Not only was I trying to remember what happened in the first two books to try to place this book… I was still reeling over the events in the last book I read. So instead of trying to push through this fogginess of remembering the other books, I set this one aside for another time when I’ve gone back through the other two books. It will just be easier that way for me… even if there really is no order to these books.

I did however pick up another book to start that is not in any kind of series. Which I’m throughly enjoying right now, which if you haven’t guessed what it is by the cover to the left… then I’m sorry. Hahaha. Christopher Moore’s books are pretty funny, I’ve read quite a few of them.

Overview – BarnesandNoble.com

“Charlie Asher is a pretty normal guy. A little hapless, somewhat neurotic, sort of a hypochondriac. He’s what’s known as a Beta Male: the kind of fellow who makes his way through life by being careful and constant – you know, the one who’s always there to pick up the pieces when the girl gets dumped by the bigger, taller, stronger Alpha Male.” “But Charlie’s been lucky. He owns a building in the heart of San Francisco, and runs a secondhand store with the help of a couple of loyal, if marginally insane, employees. He’s married to a bright and pretty woman who actually loves him for his normalcy. And she, Rachel, is about to have their first child.” “Yes, Charlie’s doing okay for a Beta. That is, until the day his daughter, Sophie, is born. Just as Charlie – exhausted from the birth – turns to go home, he sees a strange man in mint-green golf wear at Rachel’s hospital bedside, a man who claims that no one should be able to see him. But see him Charlie does, and from here on out, things get really weird.” “People start dropping dead around him, giant ravens perch on his building, and it seems that everywhere he goes, a dark presence whispers to him from under the streets. Strange names start appearing on his nightstand notepad, and before he knows it, those people end up dead, too. Yup, it seems that Charlie Asher has been recruited for a new job, an unpleasant but utterly necessary one: Death. It’s a dirty job. But hey, somebody’s gotta do it.” Christopher Moore shines his comic light on the undiscovered country we all eventually explore – death and dying – and the results are hilarious, heartwarming, and a hell of a lot of fun.

So far it kind of reminds me of the show Reaper that was on from 2007 – 2009. It’s been pretty enjoyable though. I’m only five chapters in… so that could change drastically.
3 thoughts on “A Lion Among Men

  1. Thanks for the shout out Tina! It’s funny, I did the same thing with ‘A Lion Among Men’. I was so excited when it came out that I got it right away, but as I started reading it I was like “wait, what happened before this?”, so I put it aside until I re-read the first two books (which still hasn’t happened btw). I really want to revisit the series and see how he ends it. Fabulous choice in Christopher Moore though, he is hilarious! I laughed so hard reading ‘You Suck’ and I’ve wanted to read ‘Dirty Jobs’, so let me know how it goes:)

      1. Yeah its going to sit on my shelves until I’m completely done with all my books. Dirty jobs…. Lol. I think Mike Rowe did make a book about that show. Hahaha.

Leave a Reply

