Crafts

Getting Crafty

While my husband was gone, I went on a Pinterest pinning frenzy even more than ever! When I found a little DIY for a nail polish rack, so naturally I thought to myself… do I need a nail polish rack? The answer was yes but I knew what my husband needed more than ever was something to hold all of his paints.  And let’s just say, his desk is cluttered with paints. So in an effort to help clean up his work space I decided to find a spice rack that I didn’t have to pay for.

For this project all she did was take a spice rack… painted it and put wallpaper for the background. Simple enough.

Luckily for me, my parents still had one of their old ones from when I was little. It’s tiny, but I figured it would work until I found a bigger one. Not to mention, Ronald’s paints are small so hopefully they will all fit. If anything, he can put the ones he most frequently uses on the desk and the others in the rack.


I used sandpaper to rough up the wood because the paint will not sick to the finish that was on the spice rack.

Then I began to paint it white… Well the white was not covering up the wood color. So we had to spray paint the rest… which in retrospect would have saved me a lot of time the first time around. But you live and learn.

So this is what it looks like when his paints are in the rack… He had a lot more than I thought, but none the less, he has much more room on the desk than he did before I put the paints in it. I sure hope he likes it but if not I can always use it for my nail polishes. 😀

What crafts have you started this week?

2 thoughts on “Getting Crafty

  1. Looks amazing!! Fantastic job 😀 I think it is simple enough looking in appearance, and makes the paint easily accessible so I am sure he will like it. The only craft type activity challenge I am doing this week is an attempt at a 5 layer superhero cake! This should be fun!!

    1. More power to you Elizabeth! Yeah I don’t know if you have looked through the DIY section on Pinterest but holy cow, it will get the creative juices flowing. Even if you are just taking someone else’s idea and making it your own. 😀

Leave a Reply

