Books I've Read

The Serpent’s Tale | Ariana Franklin

Nook Book $12.99

The Serpent’s Tale is book number two in the Mistress of the Art of Death series. If you are a fan of historical fiction, I suggest that you give Ariana Franklin’s series a try. So far there are only three books, that I know of.

Vesuvia Adelia Rachel Ortese Aguilar is known as the Mistress of the Art of Death. Have you ever seen the show Bones? Well Adelia is exactly what Temperance Brennan is, only during the reign of King Henry II’s time.

“The King’s mistress has been poisoned and the Queen is the top suspect. The King has once again called Adelia to find out who the murderer is. Only this time, Adelia is even more reluctant because now she has baby Allie to care for and to look after. Adelia must help solve the murder and ultimately stop an oncoming war between the King and Queen.”

As far as I know, Franklin uses actual facts within her book. In the back, at the very end, she has an author’s note that tells why some things in the book do not line up with actual history. Also she had used the name of actual men, but had no proof that they were like the characters she betrays them as. So I would give this book four out of five stars, if I had a rating system. Again, this is only because I am quite a fan of historical fiction.

Now it is on to the third book of the series, Grave Goods. 😀


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s