Books I've Read

Heat Wave | Richard Castle

Barnes and Noble Review

Nook Book $8.49

A New York real estate tycoon plunges to his death on a Manhattan sidewalk. A trophy wife with a past survives a narrow escape from a brazen attack. Mobsters and moguls with no shortage of reasons to kill trot out their alibis. And then, in the suffocating grip of a record heat wave, comes another shocking murder and a sharp turn in a tense journey into the dirty little secrets of the wealthy. Secrets that prove to be fatal. Secrets that lay hidden in the dark until one NYPD detective shines a light.

Mystery sensation Richard Castle, blockbuster author of the wildly best-selling Derrick Storm novels, introduces his newest character, NYPD Homicide Detective Nikki Heat. Tough, sexy, professional, Nikki Heat carries a passion for justice as she leads one of New York City’s top homicide squads. She’s hit with an unexpected challenge when the commissioner assigns superstar magazine journalist Jameson Rook to ride along with her to research an article on New York’s Finest. Pulitzer Prize-winning Rook is as much a handful as he is handsome. His wise-cracking and meddling aren’t her only problems. As she works to unravel the secrets of the murdered real estate tycoon, she must also confront the spark between them. The one called heat.

So in the beginning, I was actually pretty excited to start reading this book. I mean who doesn’t love watching the show Castle? So of course, you substitute all the names in the book for the names in the tv show because hell… they are pretty much the same characters. But then once I started really getting further into the book I realized one thing…. I did not like it one bit. It could have been because it read like the tv show and not like a book that pushed me farther into a wave of discontent.

The character Richard Castle on the show sounds brilliant. He has a way with his words… he IS intelligent. Rook who is portrayed as Castle in the book… not as intelligent and cunning as on the tv series. Maybe I have developed too much of a relationship with Richard Castle the tv character but he just sounds like a complete douche bag in the book. For me, that is something I just can NOT get over. And Nikki Heat… really? If it were a real book, you would get to know the characters a little bit better through the book but it was just a scramble of information, that of course I’m substituting stuff from the show to fill in the blanks in the book.

Maybe I’m just hating on the book a little bit more than I should. Or I should just not read the books and just keep loving the TV show. Honestly, I know I’ll buy the next book in the series just because my curiosity is peaked. Maybe… just maybe… it might just be me who is at fault for the book lacking. Like I said, I’m such a HUGE fan of the TV series that this book has just been a big let down because I read it like a TV show… and in a way it is, only a really bad episode. That separation between TV characters and book characters has not been fulfilled to me. They should bring about their own personality and instead I’m weaving these characters into the same person when they shouldn’t be, even though Richard Castle, tv personality, is writing a book on their personalities into a book that isn’t supposed to be about them. Yeah there are too many layers and I’m starting to think it has an Inception appeal.

One thing that I find really funny is the fact that the creator of Castle and everyone within the network will not reveal the real author of these books. It makes sense and I applaud the network for actually releasing a series with a ghost writer. When asked about who the actual author is, they all reply Richard Castle… and then it makes you think that there might actually be a real Richard Castle. In that case, it would give me a reason to blame this person for what I think is a horrible book. Luckily I didn’t pay the $8.49 for this book. It was on sale for like… $3.99 so I can’t say it was too much of a waste of money.

Again I would probably still buy the other books from this series, just to see if the character development is there and if it branches off from the tv show… which would be kind of nice.

Have you read this book? What did you think about it? Did you have a problem separating the tv show from the book characters?

Leave a Reply

