Books I've Read

A Reliable Wife | Robert Goolrick

Barnes and Noble Ebook $6.73

So my best friend and her best friend have started a book club on her blog called Books & BFFs. We are also following it on our facebook page called Readers of the Lost Art.

Have you finished the July book? A Reliable Wife by Robert Goolrick.

Now before I get into this book with you guys, let’s just go ahead and say that there may be some spoilers to this book review. It was not what I was expecting. It was probably something that a lot of us were not expecting to be completely honest. lol.

Now, I am by no means a prude but this whole book was nothing but sex. I understand where he was going with with the storyline and that sex was the very intricate part of the telling of these people’s lives, however part of me believes he could have done at least a fourth of sex and the rest an actual story.

“He wanted to slice her open and lie inside the warm blood of her body.” – I mean really? This was a scene where he wanted to have sex with Catherine just by looking at her.

And by reading a lot of the reviews of the book on Barnesandnoble.com, everyone felt the same.

But let’s get past all the sex, and let’s talk about my favorite character. I think out of all the characters in the book, I liked Ralph Truitt the most. I mean, let’s face it, he was the one that wanted to put the past behind him. And if you look at how we live today, everyone is looking for a companion of sorts. All he wanted was someone to be there with him… to not feel so lonely at his age and to share what he had accomplished after his unfaithful wife left him, his daughter had died and his son at a young age ran away. The mistakes of his life, left him wanting to reconnect and to be the better person he always wanted to be.

Catherine Land, wasn’t too terrible of a character. In the beginning, knowing that she was after his fortune kind of turned me off. But when she started to fall for Ralph, her real turning point was when she changed her mind on the act she was going to commit.

His son, Antonio Moretti, was definitely the least favorite character. Obviously because he villian in the story.

One of my favorite quote’s from the book, which would be obvious to anyone who knows me is:

“If you had been there you would not have noticed. You would not have noticed your own stillness in this thin slice of time. But, if you had been there and you had, in some unfathomable way, recorded the stillness, taken a negative of it as the glass plate receives the light to be developed later, you would have known, when the thought, the recollection was finally developed, that this was the moment it began.”

That’s right. I would pick the only quote that would have a reference to photography. 😀

What did you think about the book? Become a fan on our facebook page and tell us what you thought of it. Who was your favorite character? What did you like about the book… what did you not like? What were your favorite quotes?

August’s book of the month is Josh Sundquist’s Just Don’t Fall.

Barnes and Noble Ebook $12.99
2 thoughts on “A Reliable Wife | Robert Goolrick

  1. I have to say that after reading this, I’m probably not going to try and read the book again. That makes me sad. It really sounded like a great book from the description, but I guess who ever wrote it was paid to make it sound that way, right? Sneaky bastards. Lol

    I liked the quote you picked too, and actually thought of you after I read it, but again it makes me kind of sad that that quote was on like the first page. Maybe next time I’ll heed the warning of other reviewers (or actually read the reviews before I pick a book for us to read), but like you, I like to form my own opinions about the books I read. Oh well, we can’t win them all. I feel like I’ve said that before….

    Anyway, I’m really looking forward to Just Don’t Fall, and I have a feeling it will be way better than the last two books. I guess third time’s a charm 😉

    1. Yeah I’m hoping that everyone likes Josh’s book. I haven’t gotten too terribly far into it but I’ve got a day off tomorrow that I want to spend relaxing and reading, after tending to all the errands that need to be done before I get to do that of course. lol.

Leave a Reply

