101 Things

I Don’t Want Kids

Now before all the mother’s in the world start to tell me I’m a horrible person, just hear me out for a bit.

Now I’ve been called selfish… self centered… because I don’t want to have kids. Now my question to you is why am I a selfish person? Because I call it being responsible. I don’t want kids right now. I’m twenty five, just recently married and I want to have fun with my husband before my attention becomes centered to a little person.

Have you watched or read the news lately? It’s not pretty. Nothing in this world makes me think “Yes, I want to raise a kid in these conditions.” While the husband and I were on vacation we were watching the news and seriously… one thing after another was about who killed who… who was planning to kill who… who escaped from jail… the list goes on. And that was in a county that we don’t even live in, which ours is no better. Now I’m already a paranoid weirdo. Whether I get that from my parent’s I can’t be sure, but one thing that I do know is that my blood pressure hasn’t gone down because I’m always worried that something is going to happen to my family… something is going to happen to my husband. That is stress that I can barely handle as it is… and yes, I might need some medication for this. But really, you want to add a child to my constant paranoia?

Not only that, there has been a case where THIRD GRADERS plotted to kill their teacher. This is not something made up, this was in the news a few years ago. Really? Do I want one of my kids to be THAT kid, or the kid that get’s in their way and they end up taking him/her out? I don’t think so. Little girls are trying to be sex kittens [whether or not that is the blame of the parents or society, I will let you choose], little boys are man-ing up before they should and this is causing little girls to end up pregnant before high school. I don’t want to think that my little girl or little boy might be doing these things. You can only do so much, but let me tell you, peer pressure is a bitch. We’ve all been there.

And this whole not disciplining kids because it’s child abuse is a sad excuse. My parent’s did it to me and Ronald’s parent’s did it to him, we’re both fine functioning adults. Please for the love of all things holy… stop trying to be your child’s friend. You are not supposed to be their friend until they are married/gone from the house. And I already know that Ronald and I will be “disciplining” our future children. This is one reason why I don’t want to have kids because I know people will call child services on us for it.

But let’s look at it… am I so selfish for waiting until we are completely ready?

I could be like this chick.

Do you really want people to have children that probably shouldn’t? Her pregnancy card should have been revoked. Now let’s face it, I’m not as immature and stupid like that girl, but at least I’ll know when I’m ready.

That’s the thing with me… I want kids… sometimes. I see Ronald with his nephew and I think yeah, we could have little minions of our own. But the world around us changes my mind constantly. If I could just buy an island and I would know that we would be safe from harm… then yes I would be totally down for it. Otherwise, that if and when question will continue to linger until I’m ready.

Yes I know children are precious little gifts and that my parents and my in-laws are waiting patiently for grand babies but it’s just not in the picture right now. Sorry guys. Maybe one day. Hey kids might even help me become less anti-social but until then, I will continue to enjoy the adventures me and my husband go on.

4 thoughts on “I Don’t Want Kids

  1. I know exactly what you mean. I mean Andy and I have been married for nine years now, and we don’t have kids yet (and we’re 31!). There’s nothing wrong with waiting until you’re ready, nothing at all. And feel free to discipline your kids however you see fit, I know I will 🙂 Maybe if people payed more attention to their spawn and actually did something about their bad behavior we would end up with less criminals who think they can do whatever they want. It’s just a theory….

  2. I love your post. At 25, not even married for a year, you should be enjoying this time in your life with your husband. Not everyone is ready for kids, because anyone who has kids should know that once you do your life becomes about your kids, and there is nothing wrong with that. I hate these parents who have kids, and still party it up every weekend. Or spend money on their hair and nails, a new entertainment system, etc instead of on something their kids need.

    Working in the schools, I see plenty of parents who shouldn’t have had kids, at least not yet, and in the end it is the kids that suffer.

    At 28, I often feel the pressure from others that not only do I not have kids yet, I am not married! I am not ready, and I will not do either until I am. This probably isn’t going to happen in the near future, especially since there isn’t even boyfriend in the picture lol Until then, I will just settle for being an awesome Aunt and teacher 😉

    You still have plenty of time to have kids, if you choose to. You will make a wonderful Mom one day, and I have so much respect for you for knowing what you want and choosing to wait.

    You are definitely not selfish, far from it my friend!

    1. Omg I agree about parents now a days that still party like they are in college. I’m sorry but the whole excuse “Just because I have kids doesn’t mean I can’t go out and party” is quite a lame one. Spend more time with your kids instead of your girlfriends. I’m not saying that you can’t go out and have fun every now and again but damn… lol.

      You are probably the best aunt ever! Hahahaha. Not only do you buy the cool presents, you also challenge them to learn new things!

Leave a Reply

