Books I've Read

Just Don’t Fall | Josh Sundquist

Just Don’t Fall is one of the most inspiring books I have ever read-not too mention poignant and funny.” -A.J. Jacobs

This winning memoir of triumph over tragedy tells a story that has deeply affected thousands of readers. When he was just nine years old, Josh Sundquist was diagnosed with Ewing’s sarcoma, a virulent cancer strain that eventually claimed his left leg. Told in a wide-eyed, often heartbreaking voice, Just Don’t Fall is the astounding story of the boy Josh was and of the young man he became-an utterly heroic struggle through numerous hospitalizations and worse to become an award-winning skier in the Paralympics and renowned motivational speaker. What emerges is one of the most fresh and sincere works of inspiration to come along in years.

Now I don’t remember how I found Josh Sundquist on Youtube, but what I do remember is watching one of his motivational videos, and from then on I wanted to know this guy. Now the video below, is not one of his motivational speeches. lol. But it does, tell you of what kind of guy Josh is.

I had this book sitting in my Nook library for a while now. And then my best friend and her best friend decided to start a book club and I instantly knew, I wanted everyone to read this book. I’m not the kind to read memoirs. So in the beginning, it was a little hard for me to get into it. I wasn’t sure that I was going to like it as much as I was hoping. But by the end, Josh had me in tears. It really was a touching story.

While reading the book, I had to continue to tell myself not to read it as himself today. But a young child, trying to overcome something that he thought he would never have to go through. I have an even bigger appreciation for him and the speeches that he gives to people.

A few quotes, or really sections from the book were:

I can still hear Dad, ten years ago in the minivan after dinner at Country Cookin, his voice cracking into starts and stops as if transmitting morse code, saying “I’m sorry, Joshua, I wish they could amputate my leg instead.” I didn’t know it then, but now I know that a child with loving parents never suffers alone. The parents feel all the pain their son or daughter does, perhaps even more.

And:

“I didn’t come here today to tell you how to live your life or give you answers or advice about your problems,” I say, “because I’m just like you. I’m still trying to figure things out.”

I take a few steps across the stage.

“But there are two things about life that I’m sure are true, and those are the two things, I want to talk to you about today.”

I hold up one finger.

“First thing. Repeat after me. Life is tough.”

“Life is tough,” the three hundred voices echo.

I hold up two fingers.

“That’s the bad news. The second part is the good news. Repeat after me. Life is beautiful.”

“Life is beautiful,” they repeat.

“Good job,” I say. “That was… that was perfect.”

Those were just two little sections of the book that really got me just a little choked up. If you have ever felt like you couldn’t do something… or ever felt like you couldn’t make a change, I suggest you read his book. It might have been about a nine-year old boy who has to overcome cancer… but it is also a journey of a young man, who grows up to be an inspiration to others. No matter the obstacles, he chose to never give up even when he really wanted to.

I’m going to leave you lastly with a video from last years Vidcon, and you can totally see why I would want to hang out with him sometime! 😀

Leave a Reply

