Books I've Read

Heart of the Witch | Alicia Dean

Overview

A beautiful young witch must choose between maintaining the anonymity of her coven and trusting the detective who would bring a heartless serial killer to justice.

So I had this book sitting on my nook library for a while, it was free when I got it, yay free books!

But I had figured I better get to reading everything that has been sitting in my nook library. I’ve never heard of Alicia Dean, but the fact that the book was about murder, witchcraft and love was always a good hit with me.

In a nutshell, a horrible serial killer is on the loose and he kidnaps Ravyn Skyler, a powerful witch that ends up getting away from this lunatic because she uses witchcraft on him. Now the police are hounding her for details, details that she is not willing to admit to anyone because she is afraid of what her coven will do and more importantly what the mortals will do to her coven.

She plays dumb until one day, a lover from her past comes back into her life to try to get her back and to take her to the dark side [in my head, Star Wars music was playing while I typed that, lol] with him. She refuses and her life is turned upside down when Kayne [her ex-lover] helps the serial killer take his next victim… Ravyn’s sister.

In an effort to catch a killer, she teams up with an ex-cop turned private investigator who was already working on the serial killer case. Ravyn tries her hardest to not let it be known who and what she is, but it is because of that, that she has to choose what kind of life she wants to live. Everything comes to an end during the ultimate battle between good and evil… and love is the sacrifice.

I actually really enjoyed this book. I can’t remember the last time I read a book that was about witches, but this one was very light on the whole witchcraft stuff. It was kind of like watching a B movie on the SyFy channel. Don’t worry, I’m not hating!

And the fact that it was free, again… always a bonus. I just looked it up on Barnesandnoble.com and I don’t think they offer it anymore, but it’s saying that you can get it for a penny on other sites. It’s a fast read, only about 250 pages. A nice change from other things that I have read. It’s not complicated and hard to follow.

Leave a Reply

