Books I've Read

Heartwood | James Lee Burke

Barnes and Noble Overview

Heartwood is a kind of tree that grows in layers. And as Billy Bob’s grandfather once told him, you do well in life by keeping the roots in a clear stream and not letting anyone taint the water for you. But in Holland’s dusty little hometown of Deaf Smith, in the hill country north of Austin, local kingpin Earl Deitrich has made a fortune running roughshod and tainting anyone who stands in his way. Billy Bob has problems with Deitrich and his shamelessly callous demeanor, but can’t shake the legacy of his passion for Deitrich’s “heartbreak-beautiful” wife, Peggy Jean.

When Holland takes on the defense of Wilbur Pickett — a man accused of stealing an heirloom and three hundred thousand dollars in bonds from Deitrich’s office — he finds himself up against not only Earl’s power and influence, but also a past Billy Bob can’t will away.

Now, let me start off by saying I did not buy this book. It was a book given to me by my grandmother before she passed. I say this because I would have never bought this book on my own.

It was really hard at first to get into because I just couldn’t take the names seriously. Billy Bob? Peggy Jean? Wilbur? I know these are country names but good lord every single one was one that I imagined would be in a serious country show on tv. But the more I got into the book, I actually started to enjoy it. Again, you have to get passed the whole super country talk and there were moments where the details of certain things were a little too detailed for no reason.

It was those sections that I would kind of skim through. Not going to lie. Other than all that, it was like reading a soap opera. You can’t stop reading because you just have to know what is going to happen last. And it definitely did not disappoint. Again color me surprised! lol.

Leave a Reply

