MakeUp Review

Green with Envy | Hard Candy Review

So lately I have been OBSESSED with this blog Nouveau Cheap. She is amazing. She posts everything drugstore and low price. Now that the holidays are around, new products have been popping up everywhere. One of the products that I don’t really hear about are the Hard Candy products that are available at Walmart. She had posted a little alert that Hard Candy had palettes out for the holiday and that they were only $6! So of course, I had to drive my happy butt to Walmart and make sure that I pick up one… or two.

One of the things that I really loved when I saw this in the store is that the colors weren’t too in your face. They all look extremely wearable and very fall.

When swatched… I was soooo disappointed. More so in the first three colors [the browns] but the greens are pretty decent. As you can see, the pigmentation was lacking. That was even me swiping my finger back and forth and few times to try to get some color on my skin.

Again, the greens were pretty decent. It does crumble a little when you put your brush into it. But for six dollars, I can’t really complain. As the saying goes, you get what you pay for.

I think these are great if you want some cheap makeup if you are in a bind. I don’t know, maybe I just got a palette that didn’t have a good formula for the browns. I loves greens and I’m sure I can make these work for me.

Now I want to go ahead and apologize for the horrendous photos of my eyes. As you can imagine, someone who deals with nothing but cameras, it makes me cringe that I have to put these on the blog. I know I know, I could just redo the makeup but I’ve already taken it off and put on my jammies. There is no way I am getting out of bed now. lol.

Note to self, use the Nikon DSLR… not the point and shoot.

Now in the photos the pigmentation looks minimal… but the more I looked at it in the mirror and changed lighting, it didn’t look too bad. It might have been a little sheer, but if you can’t wear crazy colors to work, this might do for you!

Have you tried the Hard Candy brand? Or these palettes? Let me know what you think! I also got the purple colors of this palette [which is called Smoke Out] and I will let you guys know what I think of it as well!

Leave a Reply

