MakeUp Review

Sophia and Ava Lipgloss | Makeup Review

So I am happy to review the lip glosses from Blush.com, that were created by Elle and Blair Fowler. These were purchased by me from Blush.com and they are currently on sale for $19.95, which is a great deal considering they are $29.95 regular price.

I have been a HUGE fan of Elle Fowler since she started on Youtube and with their recent book release, they had released these lip glosses in honor of the characters of the book that are loosely based off of Elle and Blair’s lives.

One of the things that I actually loved when getting this product was the details of the packaging. A+ for the cuteness of theses glosses. They really put a lot of thought into this product and good for them, especially since they are normally on the receiving end.

Ava is a pink gloss and according to the back of the packaging: Ava is optimistic and carefree. She’s happy as a songbird and lives her life in the moment. Her youthfulness is captured in a cotton candy pink gloss.

Sophia is a berry gloss and according to the back of the packaging: Sophia is a hopeless romantic. She’s a believer of true love and glass slippers who wishes she could fly. Her sensuality is captured in the beautiful berry stained gloss.

Love the little bird detail on the cap.

Here are a couple of swatches on my arm and lips to give you an idea of what they look like.

My first impression from these glosses were that ONE they weren’t sticky at all!!! Which I love, because nothing is worse than having my hair stick to my lips. Or just having that sticky feeling when I talk. Two, there is no fragrance! Sometimes companies get a little crazy with the way glosses smell and it can be a bit overwhelming and actually sometimes ruin a good product. The pigmentation is really good as well.

So just based on those three, they are moving into the right direction. The application is smooth. You don’t have to double dip the applicator to get more product to put on your lips. The amount that comes out as soon as you pull the wand out will cover both your lips. The applicator isn’t like normal lip gloss doe foot applicator that I’ve used, this one is a very slim paddle that actually catches a good amount of product in the widest part of the applicator.

My lips are quite pigmented to begin with, so I was having lots of doubts with Ava. With my skin tone, it kind of didn’t work for me, but I think it will work if it was overtop a lipstick. It kind of loses its color over a period of time, but what lip gloss doesn’t?

Sophia is more my kind of lip gloss. It enhances my natural lip color and is just a great soft berry color.

A lot of people have been hating on these glosses, why? I’m not sure because I really like them. Now they are a little on the pricey side, however, if you get them on sale it’s a little better. I don’t know how long these will be on sale, but if you are interested I would definitely get on Blush.com and order them now while they are $19.95.

They have just launched a new eyeshadow + blush palette just in time for Christmas.

I’m not sure if I will be purchasing this palette, merely because I have enough eyeshadows to last me the rest of my life but for $20, that alone is an amazing deal. And I would really like to know what the formula is like. Watching Blair swatch them isn’t enough for me, I need someone who is unbiased to this palette for their true word of what it is like. Not to say Blair would lie!

But yeah, that’s what I thought of the lip glosses. For their first product to be completely developed by them, I think they did a superb job! Kudos to them and I hope that their brand expands and wish them much success in this business!

Do you own Sophia and Ava?

What do you think of them?

Will you be getting their new palette?

Leave a Reply

