Books I've Read

Christmas Jars | Jason Wright

$9.99 barnesandnoble.com

Overview

Where had it come from? Whose money was it? Was I to spend it? Save it? Pass it on to someone more needy? Above all else, why was I chosen? Certainly there were others, countless others, more needy than me… Her reporter’s intuition insisted that a remarkable story was on the verge of the front page. Newspaper reporter Hope Jensen uncovers the remarkable secret behind the “Christmas Jars”, glass jars filled with coins and bills anonymously left for people in need. But along the way, Hope discovers much more than the origin of the jars. When some unexpected news sets off a chain reaction of kindness, Hope’s greatest Christmas Eve wish comes true.

So for the season, I had chosen Christmas Jars by Jason Wright as my novel of choice for the book club. Purely for the fact that Christmas was coming up and I thought it would be a good idea to do something related to Christmas. Not to mention that this book was a mere ninety nine pages on my nook color. And I have a LOT of other books that I wanted to read before the year comes to an end.

Little did I know that this book would make me want to change way that I approach Christmas.

Hope Jenson had just lost her mother, her home was burglarized… feeling lost and empty, Hope finds something waiting for her outside of her apartment. A Christmas Jar… not sure if it was meant for her, Hope becomes obsessed with finding who had left it. Her only leads coming from letters to the newspaper that she works for, she goes out to find if these people know who had left them the same gesture and if they would help her track them down to become the front page story of her lifetime. Unwilling to help, Hope only has one lead to go on.

She stumbles upon a family with an amazing story of how a tradition had started and how their great deed has passed on to other families.

“Thirteen dollars and ninety-four cents. Each. That’s it. That’s not quite what I had in mind. That’s not much of a Christmas.”

“Sweetheart, it’s plenty. It’s Christmas. Everything I ever wanted, everything I ever asked for, everything I ever needed is sitting right here. Look, you wake up tomorrow morning healthy, smiling, and still speaking to me, and I’ll have the best Christmas ever.”

I don’t want to give it all away, but if you haven’t read this story… then you probably should. Among all of the crazy that happens around us, it’s nice to give a little be of hope to those in need. This could start a whole new Christmas tradition for others and hopefully a new way of thinking about the meaning of Christmas.

One thought on “Christmas Jars | Jason Wright

  1. So, thank you for picking this book! It reinforced the fact that good things still do happen amongst all the crappy stuff going on around us every day. I do believe I’ll be starting a Christmas Jar of my own for next year 😉 Great quote, by the way. It’s one that I highlighted too 🙂

Leave a Reply

