Life as I know it

Happy Belated Birthday to ME!

DSC_0068 copySo my birthday was on MLK day! Pretty proud to share that day with a great man! If you’re not sure about the date it was January 21st! I’ve been feeling pretty ill lately. I don’t have the flu epidemic that’s been going around in NC but I did come down with a nasty virus that I eventually gave my husband. Whoops!

But one of the things that my family was determined to do was go see the Titanic exhibit that was in Raleigh at the Museum of Natural Science. I am a lover of all things Titanic… except the movie with Leo. Sorry dude, but I can’t sit through that like I did when I was young. Anyway, I’ve always been fascinated with the stories behind the Titanic and when I found out that it was in Raleigh I knew that that was what I wanted to do for my birthday.

We weren’t allowed to take any photos inside the exhibit which was a shame because I really wanted to. The experience was a very… for a lack of a better word… sad. It’s not like when you go to a Fort or something. You know violence happened there, you know that people were killed, but to really sit there and look at the things that they have been able to uncover and biographies of people who were on the boat… it was a little too surreal.

Yes… yes… I know. It was a long time ago, but it still tugs at my little heart strings to just think that most of these people were just going home to families… that husbands were left behind to save the women and children. That the crew members and 3rd class passengers really didn’t have much of a chance. Sad right?

Would I have changed a thing about going to see it? No. I love history. I love being a part of something and to see things like this. So I was pretty grateful that my family went with me.

To kind of lighten things up, we went around through the rest of the Museum of Natural Science. We were like little kids. Running around looking at everything… touching everything. Yes… even my parents took part in being fascinated by the things they had displayed.

Here are a few of the photos that I took:

Here are more photos that my mom took:

It was a good day even though me and my husband weren’t feeling up to par… side note we got my dad sick after that. I want to make more of an effort this year to go to more museums and just travel a bit more. Got to kick this virus first and then we’ll be good as new to start a new adventure!

Have you seen the Titanic exhibit? What did you think about it?

2 thoughts on “Happy Belated Birthday to ME!

  1. What I find amazing sometimes, is how many things we have in common. Since a young age I have loved anything to do with Titanic. I have to to a few museums, have a ton of books (nonfiction and fiction based on the Titanic), have watched documentaries, read articles…and like you I once was able to watch the movie, but I can never sit through it again lol

    I truly wish I had been there to go with you. While I do love Florida, I miss quite a few things about NC. Like getting to spend my birthday with my best friend 🙂

    I am glad you had a great time!

    1. It’s true, we have so much in common it’s like we’re the same person. lol. By the way, your comment on my FB made me tear up a bit. Now I have to think about what I shall write on yours on your bday! 😀

Leave a Reply

