Books I've Read

City of Bones | Cassandra Clare

City of Bones

Barnes and Noble Overview

When fifteen-year-old Clary Fray heads out to the Pandemonium Club in New York City, she hardly expects to witness a murder — much less a murder committed by three teenagers covered with strange tattoos and brandishing bizarre weapons. Then the body disappears into thin air. It’s hard to call the police when the murderers are invisible to everyone else and when there is nothing — not even a smear of blood — to show that a boy has died. Or was he a boy?

This is Clary’s first meeting with the Shadowhunters, warriors dedicated to ridding the earth of demons. It’s also her first encounter with Jace, a Shadowhunter who looks a little like an angel and acts a lot like a jerk. Within twenty-four hours Clary is pulled into Jace’s world with a vengeance, when her mother disappears and Clary herself is attacked by a demon. But why would demons be interested in ordinary mundanes like Clary and her mother? And how did Clary suddenly get the Sight? The Shadowhunters would like to know….

Exotic and gritty, exhilarating and utterly gripping, Cassandra Clare’s ferociously entertaining fantasy takes readers on a wild ride that they will never want to end.

Four posts in a matter of five days… unheard of, I know! I regret to have to write this opinion of mine merely for the fact that I know this is my best friends’ favorite book series. Let me start by saying that they have been pushing me to read this series for years now. Never really gave it a shot, until they found out that they were making the series into a movie! [trailer below]

So they started planning this trip of going to FL where [Elizabeth] lives and seeing it together. Well hello?! I want to see both of my best friends! So I decided to take on the task of reading the Mortal Instruments series, so that I can partake in being excited about seeing my best friends and seeing this movie with them. Well… I started reading it and I just wasn’t that in to it. I don’t know. I’ve read some books like this before. Now was it terrible? Absolutely not. It just didn’t grab me like I was hoping it would.

The first book series I ever read was The House of Night books and I mean I totally became enamored with that series. As soon as one book ended I had to instantly have the next one. I would read at all hours of the night and day and never wanted to put the books down. However, with the City of Bones… I kind of had to force myself to read it.

It somewhat reminds me of Penelope Fletcher’s Rae Wilder series. Obviously Fletcher’s series is about fairies but its kind of along the same lines of a girl not knowing who or what she really was… and losing yet gaining a lot of herself in different ways. I mean… they really are similar and Fletcher’s came out two years after Clare’s so there is a good possibility that it was somewhat modeled after Clare’s. That’s only speculation on my part. :/

I’m really hoping that book number two, City of Ashes, can make me want to be excited for this series. I think I just had really high hopes and sometimes when that happens, things just fall a little too flat for my taste. And from reading a lot of the reviews that it got… either you loved it or you hated it. I have to say I’m in limbo… I didn’t love, but I didn’t quite hate it either.

Clary is your typical lost girl who doesn’t feel right about who she is and always feels like she was meant for something different. Don’t we all at times? I think I felt more emotion for Simon, the best friend, considering his unrequited love for Clary and the fact that she is completely blind to it… AND we’ve all been there. Jace, the heartbroken boy with a built up wall of steel that surrounds him. Alec, the boy is not comfortable in his own skin because he can’t truly be who he is because of rules that look down on his feelings. Isabelle, only girl in a group of guys that doesn’t like to be left behind when someone knew comes along. You know typical teen stuff with werewolves, witches and vampires thrown into the mix.

Again… I just don’t know. I guess we will see how I fair with book number two.

2 thoughts on “City of Bones | Cassandra Clare

  1. I think Elizabeth and I may have hyped this up a bit too much for you, but what can I say, we love it! I’m glad you finally gave it a chance and I hope the rest of the series gets better for you. Truth be told book three, City of Glass, is my favorite so I hope you make it that far 😉 lol. If nothing else at least you’ll know what’s going on when Ebeth and I totally go fangirl at the movie. . .

    1. Hahahaha. I think it’s true. I might have been a little too excited to read it. I find that the more skeptical I am for a book, the better the book is. Whoops. Hopefully the next one will knock me off my feet.

Leave a Reply

