Books I've Read

City of Ashes | Cassandra Clare

City of AshesBarnes and Noble Overview

Clary Fray just wishes that her life would go back to normal. But what’s normal when you’re a demon-slaying Shadowhunter, your mother is in a magically induced coma, and you can suddenly see Downworlders like werewolves, vampires, and faeries? If Clary left the world of the Shadowhunters behind, it would mean more time with her best friend, Simon, who’s becoming more than a friend. But the Shadowhunting world isn’t ready to let her go—especially her handsome, infuriating, newfound brother, Jace. And Clary’s only chance to help her mother is to track down rogue Shadowhunter Valentine, who is probably insane, certainly evil—and also her father.

To complicate matters, someone in New York City is murdering Downworlder children. Is Valentine behind the killings—and if he is, what is he trying to do? When the second of the Mortal Instruments, the Soul-Sword, is stolen, the terrifying Inquisitor arrives to investigate and zooms right in on Jace. How can Clary stop Valentine if Jace is willing to betray everything he believes in to help their father?

In this breathtaking sequel to City of Bones, Cassandra Clare lures her readers back into the dark grip of New York City’s Downworld, where love is never safe and power becomes the deadliest temptation.

Okay, not going to lie here… I really was dreading having to pick up the second book to this series. Partly because I just wasn’t happy with the first book. I even told my best friend Diana that I think I partially disliked the book because it didn’t grab at me like other books do and it was like trying to see in dense fog. No sense of direction. And it felt a little too familiar, again I’ve read the first book’s plot before. But you can’t say I don’t give things a try. I picked up the second book and started reading it thinking to myself that I will probably still dislike the series.

Boy, was I wrong. Well… let me back up first, I did have some further doubts during part one of this book. Again, not much going on… didn’t make me want to read it. Actually it felt like it took forever to read through part one. But as soon as I got to part two… my interest was peaked. Then before I knew it I finished the book in two days. lol. Really I think it was because this book wasn’t so much about Clary anymore. It was about everyone involved… from Simon all the way to Magnus and beyond. Their stories… their emotions…

“I guess it’s true what they say,” observed Jace. “There are no straight men in the trenches.”
“That’s atheists, jackass,” said Simon furiously. “There are no atheists in the trenches.” pg.129

I think the relationship that I am most fond of in the storyline is definitely Jace and Simon. They’re characters really feed off one another. And I do believe that both of them are rapidly becoming my favorites. Probably more so Jace than Simon but Simon is definitely a close second. I feel like I can really relate to them. I’m finally understanding who they are as individuals and as a group. Which obviously you don’t get that much into the first book but I’m pleasantly surprised with how quickly this book has changed my view on the characters as a whole. They are not like all the others I’ve read before and that makes me insanely happy to know.

“If you really love something, you never try to keep it the way it is forever. You have to let it be free to change.” pg. 309

The one thing that does have me just dying to know is what Imogen said to Jace with her last dying breath. Please no spoilers. It makes me want to immediately go and buy the third book. Unless I’ve completely overlooked something and it was said in this book. If so… then please enlighten me. lol.

We learn that Valentine is an insanely cruel person, that although he wouldn’t “kill” his children by his own hands… he wouldn’t stop someone else from doing it. Really dude? Even I thought that was a bit cold blooded.

Funny fact is that whenever I read Valentine’s lines… I imagine James Purefoy, who plays Joe Carroll on The Following, as Valentine… although you know he doesn’t have white hair… but he does play an evil righteous villain so all in all… they are one in the same. Also doesn’t help that I watched The Following before I finished the book…. And when I think of Jace, I think of him as Ian Somerhalder, or Daemon Salvatore from The Vampire Diaries… seriously if Jace were much… MUCH older… with dark hair and amazing blue eyes…but the same sarcastic attitude… he would Daemon Salvatore. Just saying.

Some shit goes down with Simon… not going to give it away but I feel for the guy. Sometimes we live in the shadows of others and get lost from time to time.

Really I feel like everything I want to put into this blog post will just be one HUGE spoiler. lol. But I will say this… I get paid tomorrow and I will be buying the third book tomorrow. Now it might not get read right away because I have another obligation to read the next Books & BFFs book The Painted Darkness, but as soon as I’m done with that book… The City of Glass will be on my list of to-read… effective immediately!

5 thoughts on “City of Ashes | Cassandra Clare

  1. I’m so glad that you were able to get into this book! Don’t you just love Jace? He’s such a smart ass lol. I hope you like City of Glass as much as you liked this one, it’s definitely my favorite out of all of the books so far 🙂

    1. I’m excited! I bought the book this morning and I’m pretty sure I’m half way through The Painted Darkness. So I’m ready for City of Glass. lol

    1. Lol. I was really worried with the first book. I was like… hmmm… I know the two of them would not be so in love with this series if it was mediocre.

Leave a Reply

