Books I've Read

The Painted Darkness | Brian James Freeman

9781587672385_p0_v1_s260x420Barnes and Noble Overview

When Henry was a child, something terrible happened in the woods behind his home, something so shocking he could only express his grief by drawing pictures of what he had witnessed. Eventually Henry’s mind blocked out the bad memories, but he continued to draw, often at night by the light of the moon.

Twenty years later, Henry makes his living by painting his disturbing works of art. He loves his wife and his son and life couldn’t be better… except there’s something not quite right about the old stone farmhouse his family now calls home. There’s something strange living in the cramped cellar, in the maze of pipes that feed the ancient steam boiler.

A winter storm is brewing and soon Henry will learn the true nature of the monster waiting for him down in the darkness. He will battle this demon and, in the process, he may discover what really happened when he was a child and why, in times of trouble, he thinks: I paint against the darkness.

But will Henry learn the truth in time to avoid the terrible fate awaiting him… or will the thing in the cellar get him and his family first?

Written as both a meditation on the art of creation and as an examination of the secret fears we all share, The Painted Darkness is a terrifying look at the true cost we pay when we run from our grief–and what happens when we’re finally forced to confront the monsters we know all too well.

Okay, I’m going to be real here… I’m not entirely too sure what I read with this book. Lol. I chose this book purely for the fact that it was $2.99 at barnesandnoble.com.  Not to mention the overview was pretty intriguing as well.

Brian Keene’s introduction into the book was kind of hilarious. He gives you his opinion on genre literature and what dictates art and what is entertainment.

They are written for and marketed to the masses as entertainment, and therefore, they are not art. Well, fuck that noise.

Honestly the best part of the whole book. Sorry Freeman. Now as far as the actual storyline… well just from reading the overview you know it is about facing your grief and what happens to one’s self when you let your imagination run wild to cover up a terrible loss. I honestly got really bored with it. Don’t get me wrong, it was written in a way to get you to understand what Henry thought to be real when he was a child and is blinded by the reality of what was hiding away in his mind as an adult.

The weirdest part was that it wasn’t actually numbered like it should have been. I’m assuming it was just my Ebook but when I looked to see what page I was on it would say 55 and then when I would turn the page, I would be on 63. Did that happen to anyone else?

Reading other customer’s reviews, I feel like I just wasn’t reading the same book as some of them. Some said that it was thrilling and suspenseful… when for me it was quite boring and I felt there could have been more. I don’t think I do so well when about 75% of the book is nothing but tiny details that you would think would relevant and it turns out to not be in any way. But everyone is different… and maybe I’m a bit dull… who knows. It could be that I like longer books and not novellas.

As of a couple of days ago, we the “admins” of Books & BFFs, have decided to put this little book club on the shelf for a couple months. With one admin having obligations to other authors in reading and reviewing their books and moving. Another just not having time to read any of the books we’ve picked because she teaches… and me, reading all books picked… with the exception of a couple, it just hasn’t been fair to all of us. So as of now, Books & BFFs will be dissolved until further notice. <– official sounding huh? We really wanted to keep this going but with too many obligations, we started to just lose track of everything. But when we are back on track and everyone is fully committed to it, we will try again!

2 thoughts on “The Painted Darkness | Brian James Freeman

  1. Hey Christina! I’m sorry this one didn’t work for you, but I appreciate you giving it a try. And I agree: Brian Keene’s introduction is awesome. 🙂 Thanks again for checking the book out, and maybe we’ll meet again on another book that will hit the sweet spot for you!

    1. I’m sorry it didn’t work out for me either, but I will definitely be on the look out for more from you! 😀

Leave a Reply

