Books I've Read

City of Glass | Cassandra Clare

City of GlassBarnes and Noble Overview

Don’t miss The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones, soon to be a major motion picture in theaters August 2013.

To save her mother’s life, Clary must travel to the City of Glass, the ancestral home of the Shadowhunters—never mind that entering the city without permission is against the Law, and breaking the Law could mean death. To make things worse, she learns that Jace does not want her there, and Simon has been thrown in prison by the Shadowhunters, who are deeply suspicious of a vampire who can withstand sunlight.

As Clary uncovers more about her family’s past, she finds an ally in mysterious Shadowhunter Sebastian. With Valentine mustering the full force of his power to destroy all Shadowhunters forever, their only chance to defeat him is to fight alongside their eternal enemies. But can Downworlders and Shadowhunters put aside their hatred to work together? While Jace realizes exactly how much he’s willing to risk for Clary, can she harness her newfound powers to help save the Glass City—whatever the cost?

Love is a mortal sin and the secrets of the past prove deadly as Clary and Jace face down Valentine in the third installment of bestselling series the Mortal Instruments.

Now I can totally understand why my best friend Diana, Brilliantly Novel, said this was her favorite book from the series because I could not put it down once I got some time to myself!! On Friday, I was going to be productive, but let’s face it, it was my first day off in a very long week of work and me being productive just wasn’t in the agenda. So I laid in bed and just started reading. I have to say, I did not want to put the book down. Of course when it came time to feeding myself, I gave myself a little break and watched some television but other than that, my nose was in this book the WHOLE day. Even into Saturday morning, I made myself go to bed at 2:30am, thinking and eventually dreaming about Clary, Jace, and the gang. I packed 200 pages of the book into Friday and then all that was left on Saturday was ending.

If you want to talk about drama, this book is packed with it! The constant battle between Clary and Jace’s love for one another and having to only accept that they are brother and sister and nothing more. So powerful it almost hurts. New characters enter the story, Sebastian Verlac, cousin of Aline Penhallow, takes a predominant role within the story. Clary feels like she knows him. He knows all about her and her family and friends… he says that word gets around; gossip moves fast but how could he know so much about all of them in such a short amount of time.

Poor Simon, does anything ever NOT happen to this kid? I mean really… in the beginning, he can’t get the girl that he’s loved for years to love him back… gets turned into a vampire… gets kidnapped by said girl’s father… then girl finally wants to “try” being a couple, only for him to realize that that shizz ain’t going to work… then is told to lie to girl so she wouldn’t go with the rest of the group to Alicante… almost dies [I stress almost] in a demon attack… then gets thrown into prison. I hope that the next few books will leave this poor guy alone!

Jace really goes through a character struggle in this book. He learns so much about himself that he almost forgets who he is. You can feel his sadness and confusion. It seems that he stops believing in himself and who he is as a person because he was defined as one thing, only to learn that he is something entirely different. There is a lot that he has to take in and to grow up thinking and believing something that was just a complete and utter lie… it’s hard to want to accept the truth and to really grasp life the way you use to.

This book finally brings a lot of things to light. It answers questions but then kind of at the same time, just creates more. I’m intrigued with how all of this will play out.

9781416975861_p0_v1_s260x420Thank goodness for friends that are mad readers and enjoy books as much as I do because apparently The Mortal Instruments series and The Infernal Devices overlap each other. If it weren’t for Diana, I don’t think I would have known that. So starting today, I will be starting the Clockwork Angel and then after that will be going on to The Mortal Instruments, the City of Fallen Angels.

I have a feeling I will reading these two series for the better part of a couple of months! lol.

5 thoughts on “City of Glass | Cassandra Clare

  1. Ahhhhhhh! I’m sooooo glad you liked it!! I’m even one step away from saying “I told you so” :D. Lol. Did you cry? I totally cried. Like twice. I’m kind of a baby though. . .

    I’m glad I could help you out on the reading order. You could probably read the two series separately, but like I said, I recommend that you read them in the order that they were published because of the overlap. It’s kind of fun to see how TMI and TID are intwined together. I’m reading Clockwork Princess now, and I’m 99% sure that events from it play out in City of Heavenly Fire 🙂

    1. Lol, I actually did not cry; which is kind of surprising! There was the one moment, when you learn that [spoiler alert to anyone who hasn’t read this] Max was killed and they are all crying and holding him… yeah, that tugged at the heart strings! I was like, “REALLY?! Why would you do that?!” Although, I had a feeling that something was going to happen to Max because there were all those little moments where they kept treating him kind of bad and pushing him around and it just keep nagging at you like hey… just so you know… shits about to get real with him. lol.

      1. You’re heartless! Lol. I cried with the Max thing (I can’t believe you spoiled that on here btw), the angel at the manor thing, and the Jace thing towards the end. It doesn’t take much to make me cry though, especially if I’m really invested in something.

  2. Hey, I could have spoiled a lot more than the Max thing! As bad as it sounds, I don’t think that event was a huge highlight in the book. Just saying. lol. I know, I know… heartless.

Leave a Reply

