Books I've Read

Clockwork Angel | Cassandra Clare

Clockwork AngelOverview

Don’t miss The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones, soon to be a major motion picture in theaters August 2013.

Includes the never-before-seen short story Magnus’s Vow!

Magic is dangerous—but love is more dangerous still.

When sixteen-year-old Tessa Gray crosses the ocean to find her brother, her destination is England, the time is the reign of Queen Victoria, and something terrifying is waiting for her in London’s Downworld, where vampires, warlocks and other supernatural folk stalk the gaslit streets. Only the Shadowhunters, warriors dedicated to ridding the world of demons, keep order amidst the chaos.

Kidnapped by the mysterious Dark Sisters, members of a secret organization called The Pandemonium Club, Tessa soon learns that she herself is a Downworlder with a rare ability: the power to transform, at will, into another person. What’s more, the Magister, the shadowy figure who runs the Club, will stop at nothing to claim Tessa’s power for his own.

Friendless and hunted, Tessa takes refuge with the Shadowhunters of the London Institute, who swear to find her brother if she will use her power to help them. She soon finds herself fascinated by—and torn between—two best friends: James, whose fragile beauty hides a deadly secret, and blue-eyed Will, whose caustic wit and volatile moods keep everyone in his life at arm’s length . . . everyone, that is, but Tessa. As their search draws them deep into the heart of an arcane plot that threatens to destroy the Shadowhunters, Tessa realizes that she may need to choose between saving her brother and helping her new friends save the world. . . . and that love may be the most dangerous magic of all.

So I definitely finished this book in only a couple of days! I have to admit it, Cassandra Clare has officially got me hooked. One of the things that I was told going into this book was that I need to be aware that it is not written as a prequel but as period in time, that brings to light certain characteristics of the book. I guess what I’m saying is that it makes references stuff that we’ve read about in The Mortal Instruments series, into this book and gives you a little bit more background as to certain characters, such as Magnus Bane.

As like it was in the Mortal Instruments series, I was drawn to the sarcastic loner, William Herondale. And AGAIN, instantly thinking of Ian Somerhalder… seriously guys… black hair… blue eyes, you can not tell me you weren’t think if he were older he would be Ian Somerhalder. lol.

Ian-Somerhalder

I mean really guys… Look at him! lol. If he were younger and still this beautiful you know you would be imagining him as William Herondale. lol. At least we all know I do! Only reason to ever watch The Vampire Diaries… lol.

His long lashes veiled them as he said, “Sometimes, when I have to do something I don’t want to do, I pretend I’m a character from a book. Its easier to know what they would do.”

Anyway, Jem or James, is someone that you just want to love. You want to make sure that he is alright but at the same time he is the one who soothes you and releases you of any concern for himself. He is the voice of reason and I’m so glad to see a character like this. A soft male character that knows his destiny and will not lay down his sword because of a disability.

Still unsure about Tessa’s character though. Of course, I instantly fell in love with the Shadowhunters but I feel as if Tessa has to prove something to me now. We know who and what she is… but where does she fit in.

Reading through people’s reviews on Barnesandnoble.com, I think people are forgetting that of course this book is going to have similarities to TMI, Will is most certainly going to sound like Jace… if you read the TMI City of Glass you learn that Jace is not a Wayland or a Morgenstern. I suppose I should have said… Spoiler alert for that, but people are missing the point, especially the ones that have read both series!

I loved the book. Maybe a little more than The Mortal Instruments but purely for the fact that it’s based in historical times. All I can imagine is nothing but steampunk everything! lol.

I can not wait to start reading the City of Fallen Angels, which is next in the list of Cassandra Clare series since my best friend recommend that I read them alternating of when the books were published. I thought it would be a little hard to let go of Clary and Jace and go on to Tessa and Will, but the transition wasn’t hard. So thank goodness for that.

4 thoughts on “Clockwork Angel | Cassandra Clare

  1. Yay! I’m glad you liked it! I was unfair to this book when I read it, compairing to TMI, but in the end I still liked it. I realized how unfair I had been when I got into Clockwork Prince because, girl let me tell you, that book is good! It’s incredibly character driven, and if you love Will and Jem now, you’re not going to know what to do with yourself in the next book 🙂 LOL.

    1. I can’t wait! Already started City of Fallen Angels and thank goodness you suggested for me to read Clockwork Angel first because I totally understand now that I’ve had Camille come into the picture and I already knew who she was and such. So good call on that! Hahah.

  2. I have read all of The Mortal Instruments books and I am on The Clockwork Princess now (The last of The Infernal Devices Books). I have to say right now I am loving TID books. I really loved TMI books too, but I feel like TID books aren’t as juvenile. Especially, between Will and Tessa vs. Jace and Clary. Although, it has been a while since I have read the latest TMI book, so I might just need to reread it to get back into the story line. I can’t believe the next TMI book isn’t coming out until next year!

    1. I agree! TID series is definitely a bit more mature than TMI series. But then again, maturity was standard for their ages back then. lol. I don’t know if I can handle the fact that the next TMI book won’t be out until next year. 🙂

Leave a Reply

