Books I've Read

Clockwork Prince | Cassandra Clare

Clockwork PrinceBarnes and Noble Overview

True love is shrouded in secrets and lies in the #1 New York Times bestselling second book of the Infernal Devices trilogy.

In the magical underworld of Victorian London, Tessa Gray has found safety with the Shadowhunters. But that safety proves fleeting when it becomes clear that the mysterious Magister will stop at nothing to use Tessa’s powers for his own dark ends.

With the help of the handsome, tortured Will and the devoted Jem, Tessa discovers that the Magister’s war on the Shadowhunters is deeply personal and fueled by revenge. To unravel the secrets of the past, the trio journeys from mist-shrouded Yorkshire to a manor house that holds untold horrors. When they encounter a clockwork demon bearing a warning for Will, they realize that the Magister knows their every move—and that one of their own has betrayed them.

Tessa is drawn more and more to Jem, though her longing for Will continues to unsettle her. But something is changing in Will. Could finding the Magister free Will from his secrets and give Tessa answers about who she really is? As their search leads to deadly peril, Tessa learns that secrets and lies can corrupt even the purest heart.

Omg… omg… Oh My GOSH! Last night I ended up staying up all night into about three in the morning reading this book and then continued to finish it this morning/afternoon. All I can say is that I have never read a book that has left me breathless. I loved everything about this book.

Tessa still seems to be an unfamiliar character to me even though the book is about her, but more and more I feel a strong connection to Will. Tortured and broken… he is the type of guy that every girl wants to fix. His desperation to fix himself… to be able to love and be loved. You yearn for him to find a way to lift the curse because someone like him deserves to be loved. As sarcastic and sometimes cruel he may seem, he does good by the people he cares about. Within this book of the series, you learn more about Will and why he is the way he is. You learn of his family… of the curse… of the grief and pain that he has put himself through all because of a lie. I mean, how could you not fall in love with him?

And Jem… always the good guy Jem, FINALLY loses his cool with Will. It’s a nice change to see him not be on the good and calm side for a change, even if it was for just a chapter. And like Will, he has fallen deeply and madly in love with Tessa. It was almost obvious that it was happening…. something within the first chapter, of him taking Tessa to Westminster Abbey to the Poet’s Corner. Knowing that of the thing she loved most was the written word… it takes a special kind of love to give that to someone. Though a little creepy… not gonna lie. lol.

You want to love them both… two men, on the opposite sides of the spectrum both with qualities that Tessa loves… who does she choose? Who could she possibly be with knowing that one will be hurt either way. You actually learn who it is… for once… not going to spoil it for you, even though to me it seemed pretty obvious that it went down the way it did.

After reading this book and finishing it within days… my head is spinning. Love triangles, betrayals of so called family, and still not really knowing what Tessa truly is. I just have no real words. I don’t even care that the Magister is still out there, trying to kill the Shadowhunters and is still making an epic clockwork army and still wants Tessa…. I just want this love triangle to continue and continue being interesting and complicated. It’s the only real drama in my life right now. 😀

But one of the funny things that happened, after I had finished the book and was getting ready to head into the city to meet up with the husband, I turned on my Pandora and the first song to come on was The Goo Goo Dolls – Iris. Which in all honesty, was probably fate because that song is everything that represents this book.

If you have read this book and remember every word of love that was spoken between Will, Tessa and Jem… this song just makes all the sense. If this were to become a movie, this song would be playing at every moment that either Will and/or Jem were spilling their guts out to Tessa. And can I just say, that even now I am still in love with The Goo Goo Dolls.

And the ending… the bombshell of an ending. I don’t even want to read City of Lost Souls, Book Four of The Mortal Instruments series, because I’m so enthralled by this series. It has been a very long time since I have read a book series that I couldn’t stop myself from just reading all night long. If that doesn’t tell you something about it, I don’t know what will. It is all that I have been thinking about all day and night.

I know that I started reading The Mortal Instruments series because everyone was telling me what an amazing book series it was but by far, The Infernal Devices has my heart. Even though I gave City of Ashes and the City of Glass two thumbs up… The Infernal Devices… it had me from the Clockwork Angel. I know that was the first book and Clockwork Prince is only the second but I’m hoping that it can only get even better from here on out. I just hope that Clare doesn’t keep the series going, just to keep it going. Diana had said that she wished The Mortal Instruments series ended with City of Glass, and I completely agree. City of Glass was a phenomenal book and City of Fallen Angels didn’t live up to par. But what can you do, when a book series sells you want to ride that out as long as possible.

Oh and wicked fan girl moment, let me tell you those don’t happen often… unless they involve Doctor Who, but I was watching Supernatural with the hubby and they started talking about Nephilim… oh yeah. That is correct. I just had to mention that because seriously… I don’t know what my best friends have done to me, but I kind of like it. Hahaha. And I can’t say don’t tell them because they read my blog posts… so there you go Diana and Elizabeth.

And even though I want to go straight into the Clockwork Princess… I won’t, I still need to read City of Lost Souls. So that is what I am going to start… probably tonight with a lovely glass of wine. If you read the Clockwork Prince… what did you think? Are you in love with this series as I am? Do you feel it to be more mature than The Mortal Instruments… because I think so. Just my opinion and I would appreciate yours. 😀

2 thoughts on “Clockwork Prince | Cassandra Clare

  1. Dude, you are so right about the song! It fits perfectly. And the more I think about it, you’re right about TID being more mature than TMI. It feels deeper, more character driven to me, especially Clockwork Prince and Clockwork Princess (which I hope to finish soon).

    I love TMI, you know I do, but more and more I’m wishing that it had stopped with City of Glass. Although, going into City of Lost Souls (which is kind of wierd) there’s a connection to a TID character that Ebeth and I caught on to that I’m interested to see how it plays out in the last two books of the mixed series.

    And you’re welcome, by the way. Being obsessed with nephilim is just kind of a way of life and I’m glad we could drag you into it 😀

    1. Lol. As soon as I heard the song I couldn’t get it out of my head. I had to write it down on a piece of paper towel so I wouldn’t forget that I wanted to include it into the blog post. I mean… it just fits. It’s rare for me to find a song’s meaning that fits so well with something I’ve read.

      I agree, TID is way more character driven. I can actually say that I never wanted to put it down. While I was reading it at work, I kept thinking “Man, I just want to go home and read.” That’s how I know it’s a good book. lol.

      I just started City of Lost Souls, so hopefully I can pick up on the connection you are talking about. I’ve gone through these mixed series like my life depended on it. It’s crazy how wrapped up I got into it, obviously more so TID… still takes me a little while to get through TMI. TID = couple days… TMI = couple weeks… lol

      I know my “reviews” are not so much reviews as they are my thoughts on what I read, which is really just a one track mind type of deal. But, if people can’t get that I loved this book and think everyone should read this series, I don’t know what else I could do to make them realize it. lol. I welcome the Nephilim and now I’m going to be down in the dumps knowing that it’s going to be a little while for the other books to come out. This is why I always wait until the entire series is over but I’m sure you guys will keep tabs going on it so I won’t miss a publishing date. 😀

Leave a Reply

