Books I've Read

City of Lost Souls | Cassandra Clare

City of Lost SoulsGoodreads Overview

The New York Times bestselling Mortal Instruments continues—and so do the thrills and danger for Jace, Clary, and Simon.

What price is too high to pay, even for love? When Jace and Clary meet again, Clary is horrified to discover that the demon Lilith’s magic has bound her beloved Jace together with her evil brother Sebastian, and that Jace has become a servant of evil. The Clave is out to destroy Sebastian, but there is no way to harm one boy without destroying the other. As Alec, Magnus, Simon, and Isabelle wheedle and bargain with Seelies, demons, and the merciless Iron Sisters to try to save Jace, Clary plays a dangerous game of her own. The price of losing is not just her own life, but Jace’s soul. She’s willing to do anything for Jace, but can she still trust him? Or is he truly lost?

Love. Blood. Betrayal. Revenge. Darkness threatens to claim the Shadowhunters in the harrowing fifth book of the Mortal Instruments series.

This… this was an interesting book. Let me start by saying that I can clearly hate Cassandra Clare as much as I can love her. City of Fallen Angels, I wasn’t entirely fond of… I had said that City of Lost Souls better live up to something because The Infernal Devices series as slowly overshadowing The Mortal Instruments series. This book brought me back to the things that I loved about it and I hate Cassandra Clare for making me go through a book that I wasn’t happy about to get to a book that I just… loved.

As the overview mentions, Jace is bonded to Sebastian in a way no one can fathom.

To kill one will kill the other. Jonathon Lightwood and Jonathon Morgenstern bonded by a ritual by the Greater Demon Lilith, that wants it to be known that she is the rightful mother of Valentine’s son because her blood runs through his veins. In the City of Fallen Angels, in the end, we learn that Jace and Sebastian have gone missing. Likely that Sebastian kidnapped Jace, because of the mark of Lilith that both Jace and Sebastian share.

All the patrols and sweeps of the cities they’ve done, all hope seems to be put on a back burner. The final verdict is that should Jace be spotted, he shall die alongside Sebastian. A risk that the clave is willing to make if it means to stop Clary’s evil brother. Not knowing whether he is alive or dead, Clary and the others desperately search for ways to find/track him. Having made a deal with the Seelie Queen, Clary finds herself in the library of the institute, stealing… when out of the blue, Jace and Sebastian make their way through the library looking for books. He looks like her Jace, he talked like her Jace and yet… there he was with her brother and in the blink of an eye he was gone. Not fully comprehending what had happened, but knowing that he was unhurt, he even looked happy, Clary is stunned and more worried than ever that Jace had turned his back on her… on them.

Until he just shows up in Clary’s room… long story short… they truly find out that if you hurt one the other will bleed the same. Sebastian stabs Luke with a blade that had a demon poisoned tip and Luke is fighting for his life while Clary is astonished that Jace had come back for her… for her to be with him and Sebastian.

I don’t know if anyone else found this threesome creepy but I surely did. And my goodness, poor Luke, if it’s not Simon, it’s Luke. Something is always happening to these people. lol.

Clary pretty much makes up her mind that she will be the one to save Jace, as if any of us had any other doubt that it wouldn’t be her. She knows that Jace will come back for her, with a little life line to Simon, she finds herself in a traveling apartment that Valentine had made, that was untraceable. Moving from city to city, Clary does her best to act the part. Jace told her if she came with them, there was no going back for her old life.

We find Sebastian begging Clary to give him a chance to prove that he is not what he seems. That he is not their father and that he has a plan that will help the Nephilim against demons. Jace, never once wavering in the way that he has felt for Clary, tries his hardest to make her see the good that they are doing. Could it be true that this bond between him and Sebastian is a good one. The only thing is… deep down inside she knows that the Jace before her… is not HER Jace. No matter the way he feels normal or right, she can’t give up the fact that he is someone else completely… someone under the influence of another. Sebastian’s little puppet.

How do you save someone that is, for once, happy? Someone that doesn’t want to be saved.

I don’t think I have ever really written a review quite like this. As you can tell… this book got to me. I told a co-worker that I am stupidly invested in this series now. I forget everything bad I had ever said about the series and have come to realize that this is a series that I could picture myself reading over and over again. That’s saying something, considering that once I read a book… I tend to not pick it up ever again. It’s like watching a movie, I don’t want to see it again because I already know what happens. But for me to want to start at the beginning again, it’s a weird feeling.

Like I said, Clare got me good with this book. I’m not going to go much further than what I’ve already described but there are some definite changes. Relationship troubles between Alec and Magnus… Isabelle realizing feelings for Simon that actually scares her… and there’s a new threat in all of their lives… one that even I hadn’t seen coming. I’m sad that this is the last book until City of Heavenly Fire comes out in March of next year. I don’t think anything else that I read will live up to this.

Clockwork PrincessLuckily for me I still have the Clockwork Princess from The Infernal Devices series to keep me occupied for a week. Or a couple of days, seeing as the Clockwork Prince only took me a matter of days to finish.

Funny thing is, I was behind on my reading challenge for goodreads by like… four books and I’ve made it up in a matter of weeks. I think I’m still behind one book but that will surely change once I’ve finished Clockwork Princess.

The next series that I will be taking up is The Hunger Games, partly because my husband’s co-worker had given him the series to give to me to read. There are still good people out there. lol. And I thank her because I don’t think my bank account can take much more hitting like it has with these two series I’ve been reading. One book right after another… I’m surprised I didn’t get a call asking if it were possible that someone of the nerd variety has stolen my card.

And I’m sure everyone is ready for me to be done with these books for now. lol. Before I get into the third book of The Infernal Devices, I have to actually get back to my normal life. Hahaha. I’ve been so consumed with reading these series that I’ve let things slip passed me, so I’ve got pieces to pick up and trudge forward with. Hopefully will be doing a Empty Products blog posts, because even though I’ve been doing nothing but book reviews lately, I am still on Project Ten Pan. I have a box that is over flowing so I might actually try to do that tomorrow.

So yeah. That is that. If you have read this book, what did you think of it?

One thought on “City of Lost Souls | Cassandra Clare

Leave a Reply

