Books I've Read

Clockwork Princess | Cassandra Clare

Clockwork PrincessBarnes and Noble Overview

THE INFERNAL DEVICES WILL NEVER STOP COMING

A net of shadows begins to tighten around the Shadowhunters of the London Institute. Mortmain plans to use his Infernal Devices, an army of pitiless automatons, to destroy the Shadowhunters. He needs only one last item to complete his plan: he needs Tessa Gray.

Charlotte Branwell, head of the London Institute, is desperate to find Mortmain before he strikes. But when Mortmain abducts Tessa, the boys who lay equal claim to her heart, Jem and Will, will do anything to save her. For though Tessa and Jem are now engaged, Will is as much in love with her as ever.

As those who love Tessa rally to rescue her from Mortmain’s clutches, Tessa realizes that the only person who can save her is herself. But can a single girl, even one who can command the power of angels, face down an entire army?

Danger and betrayal, secrets and enchantment, and the tangled threads of love and loss intertwine as the Shadowhunters are pushed to the very brink of destruction in the breathtaking conclusion to the Infernal Devices trilogy.

There are no words that I could possibly say that could tell you how accurately I felt about this book. I started reading it as fast as I could… I wanted to know everything as soon as possible, the last Mortal Instruments book had foreshadowed something that I felt I needed to know if it were true. But as soon as I got half way through the book… I couldn’t do it. I had to slow down, not only to really read what I was seeing on the page but because I knew part of me did not want this book/series to end.

His eyes went soft and silver as she spoke. “Zhe shi jie shang, wo shi zui ai ne de,” he whispered.

She understood it. In all the world, you are what I love the most.

I have never read a series that I felt so passionately about. Never thought that I could feel a loss knowing that it was over. That is special. A true first for me.

Magnus took a deep breath and spoke gently. “Will, You asked me for my wisdom, as someone who has lived many lifetimes and buried many loves. I can tell you that the end of a life is the sum of the love that was lived in it, that whatever you think you have sworn, being here at the end of Jem’s life is not what is important. It was being here for every other moment. Since you met him, you have never left him and never not loved him. That is what matters.”

I won’t go into details of the book. You, yourself should read it. I loved the happiness, the betrayal, the sorrow, the pain, the grief and the idea of something coming full circle. I didn’t want it to end and was even more sad just thinking that it was over. I choked up when I thought the inevitable was here, only to be misdirected and lead on to another path.

“Do not regret too much the choices you have made in the past, Gabriel,” she said, aware that she was using his Christian name, but not able to help it. “Only make the right ones in the future. We are ever capable of change and ever capable of being our better selves.”

And the ending… oh the ending. I don’t think the ending could have been anymore perfect.

Brava Mrs. Clare… Brava!! I still believe TMI is a step back from this series, even though there are more books, but I am glad that it has ended and ended in a way that made my heart flutter with relief and even though some what saddness still sat in my heart, I was content none the less.

Ave atque vale, Will thought. Hail and farewell. He had not given much thought to the words before, had never thought about why they were not just a farewell but also a greeting. Every meeting led to a parting, and so it would, as long as life was mortal. In every meeting there was some of the sorrow of parting, but in every parting there was some of the joy of meeting as well.

I don’t even know if I can move on to any other book series… Am I being a bit dramatic… If you answer yes, then I understand but whenever there is a book that stays on your mind like this series has, I can’t think of myself moving on just yet. A relationship that ended just too soon. lol.

Life is a book, and there are a thousand pages I have not yet read.

2 thoughts on “Clockwork Princess | Cassandra Clare

Leave a Reply

