Books I've Read

The Hunger Games | Suzanne Collins

The Hunger GamesBarnes and Noble Overview

In the ruins of a place once known as North America lies the nation of Panem, a shining Capitol surrounded by twelve outlying districts. The Capitol is harsh and cruel and keeps the districts in line by forcing them all to send one boy and one girl between the ages of twelve and eighteen to participate in the annual Hunger Games, a fight to the death on live TV. Sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen, who lives alone with her mother and younger sister, regards it as a death sentence when she is forced to represent her district in the Games. But Katniss has been close to dead before-and survival.

Okay, disclaimer… I have not seen the movie of this book. Obviously the trailers of the movie and really the only thing from those I remember is Jennifer Lawrence screaming that she volunteers as tribute. Oh and these parodies on youtube.

Other than that, I really know nothing of the book. Besides the fact that I am WAY behind on reading what’s trending… like a year behind…  but I digress…

Still reeling from my loss of The Infernal Devices, I knew I needed to start something quick to help me get over the hump of feeling disconnected because I’m pretty much done with The Mortal Instruments until the new book comes out March 2014. So the next obvious was The Hunger Games, purely because my husband’s co-worker had given him the books for me to read. How precious, right?! Again, my bank account thanks you Patricia!

At the beginning of the book, all I could think was… UGH, I hate Katniss already. There is just something about nagging negative main characters that just drive me to the edge of the abyss. Hateful and dull is what I got out of her in the couple chapters in the beginning. Then going further, I started to hate her just a little more… to the point to where I didn’t even want to finish reading the book. At work, we would refer to her as a Debbie Downer. lol. But I pushed through and actually started to enjoy the book once all the tributes are in the arena.

Obviously everything picks up because now you are on the edge of your sit, waiting to know who will kill who… the alliances… the twists from the Capitol. Now I understand what everyone was RAVING about with this book. It’s part brilliant and part disturbing. The idea of sending kids into an arena to fight to the death… ingenious. And it was so well written, at least the parts that I didn’t have to listen to Katniss complain about EVERYTHING. lol. But still, I understand her character… the mannerisms that make her who she is and why she finds it hard to trust.

Okay, maybe I don’t go around loving everyone I meet, maybe my smiles are hard to come by, but I do care for some people. pg. 122

This is probably the only quote from the book that stuck with me… because I’m the same way. Often on the defensive… but the people that I do love, know that I do and I don’t have to work extra hard for them to see it. So I think that was the turn around, where instead of hating her… I felt for her in a way. Obviously not fighting small or even not so small children, but the have to grow up the way she has. The things she had to go through had hardened the little girl into a stone of a young woman. Then to have to go through just trying to survive the game, at the end I finally understood why I didn’t like her and how I had become to love her just a little bit.

Everything in me is saying… watch the movie, though I’m not going to because I just want to read all of the books first and then move into the movie. I want to know what happens next in Catching Fire; it didn’t take me long to read this book so I don’t think it will take me long to read the other. I have to say that I didn’t think that I would like the books. There was just something about it, something that put me off… it could have been all the popularity that it got. I totally understand now. And I’m glad that I put it off a little while, because since the whole epic high of it blowing up has died down… I feel like I can really enjoy it without people constantly chatting about it and ruining everything about it to me. It happens. [shrugs] At least now, when people make references to the book I can finally understand what the hell they are talking about. 😀

So tomorrow… or more likely tonight, I will be starting Catching Fire. Kind of excited… not going to lie.

Have you read The Hunger Games trilogy?! What did you think of it? I’d love to know!

2 thoughts on “The Hunger Games | Suzanne Collins

  1. It’s kind of funny, I put off reading The Hunger Games for the longest time because of all of the hype and the fact that Stephanie Meyers was pimping it out. When I finally did break down and read it. . . I read all three books in TWO days. I simply could not put them down 😀

    1. Hahahaha, once I got over the whole self hating… I’m just going to die… crap, it was really entertaining. lol. It’s not as memorable as The Infernal Devices, but I can live with it! 😀

Leave a Reply

