Books I've Read

Catching Fire | Suzanne Collins

Catching FireBarnes and Noble Overview

Against all odds, Katniss Everdeen has won the annual Hunger Games with fellow district tribute Peeta Mellark. But it was a victory won by defiance of the Capitol and their harsh rules. Katniss and Peeta should be happy. After all, they have just won for themselves and their families a life of safety and plenty. But there are rumors of rebellion among the subjects, and Katniss and Peeta, to their horror, are the faces of that rebellion. The Capitol is angry. The Capitol wants revenge.

I finished Catching Fire last night, and I’m a little indifferent about the whole book. I mean I liked it, don’t get me wrong. I just… I can’t put my finger on it.

Katniss and Peeta have won the games, but only at the expense of the Capitol. Katniss pretty much gave the Capitol the finger, and saved not only herself from certain death but Peeta as well… this does not sit well with the Capitol. She challenged the government and now they want her to know they are in control. It’s the Quarter Quell and new rules have been set in place for this years Hunger Games… existing victors, male and female, will be reaped for this years games. Which only means one thing… Katniss is the only female victor from District 12, and she will be going back into the arena but who will be the male tribute?!

I actually loved this whole twist in the games. Not only that the victors have to make their way back into the arena but the whole games up to the end of the book. It was intense, and part of me just wanted to pick up Mockingjay to finish it but I made myself have some self control. lol. When you get to the end of this book, there is a whole other twist that even I wasn’t expecting. Call me pleasantly surprised!

“At some point, you have to stop running and turn around and face whoever wants you dead.The hard thing is finding the courage to do it.”

And I think I fell in love Peeta even more. What girl wouldn’t?!… besides Katniss anyway… I mean this guy is madly in love with Katniss and would do anything in his power to make sure that she is safe. Even if that means risking going back into arena to make sure that Katniss makes it out for the second time… without him. And Katniss… girl you best make up your mind. One minute your thinking you only have feelings for Gale and then maybe at some point you could love Peeta. Choose and boy and stick to it! My obvious choice would be Peeta… but I could see where her conflicting emotions may lie.

I think I know what the outcome of the third book Mockingjay is… and I know I’m probably going to hate it a little. lol. I don’t know. I could be wrong. I can only hope to be wrong. I still haven’t figured out what I don’t like about the series yet… it could be that there isn’t anything that I don’t like. I’m just giving it a hard time. I know this isn’t much of a review. I think that’s why I kind of dislike the books, it has me excited to read it but none of it really sticks. Like the quotes I have… completely bypassed them when I was reading. Had to go onto Goodreads to find the quotes.

“The bird, the pin, the song, the berries, the watch, the cracker, the dress that burst into flames. I am the mockingjay. The one that survived despite the Capitol’s plans. The symbol of the rebellion.”

OH! And I had almost forgot, since finding Iris by the Goo Goo Dolls for the series The Infernal Devices, because I am a hopeless romantic and always find meanings in songs… I had actually found a few that I was like “Okay, this could work for this book at some point.” I was driving into town to get some food and Maroon 5’s song Love Somebody came on and I thought… this could work. Then I was in the shower listening to Pandora and O.A.R.’s song Shattered came on, and thought the same thing. But driving to work Justin Timberlake’s song Mirrors came on… and is probably the better fit for this book. I think it could work on many levels and not to mention I LOVE this song. I always get a little choked up listening to it.

If you could think of a better song for this series as far as love songs go, what would you choose?

3 thoughts on “Catching Fire | Suzanne Collins

  1. I know what you mean. I kind of blew through this series, and even though I read it on my kindle, I don’t really have any quotes to show for it.

    I really liked the arena in this book, too. I thought the whole clock idea was cool. And I’m definitely right there with ya on team Peeta, especially with what happens in the next book. 🙂

    p.s. You spelled the author’s name wrong in your title 😉

    1. Dude good catch! See you should just become an editor of sorts. lol. I thought the arena was a really good idea as well. When Wiress kept saying Tick Tock, it did not even remotely come to me that the whole thing would work like a clock. I just thought that she was counting down the time until she was going to get killed.

Leave a Reply

