Books I've Read

Mockingjay | Suzanne Collins

MockingjayGoodreads Overview

My name is Katniss Everdeen.  Why am I not dead?  I should be dead.

Katniss Everdeen, girl on fire, has survived, even though her home has been destroyed.  Gale has escaped.  Katniss’s family is safe.  Peeta has been captured by the Capitol.  District 13 really does exist.  There are rebels.  There are new leaders.  A revolution is unfolding.

It is by design that Katniss was rescued from the arena in the cruel and haunting Quarter Quell, and it is by design that she has long been part of the revolution without knowing it.  District 13 has come out of the shadows and is plotting to overthrow the Capitol.  Everyone, it seems, has had a hand in the carefully laid plans – except Katniss.

The success of the rebellion hinges on Katniss’s willingness to be a pawn, to accept responsibility for countless lives, and to change the course of the future of Panem.  To do this, she must put aside her feelings of anger and distrust.  she must become the rebels’ Mockingjay – no matter what the personal cost.

Not going to lie… I started reading this immediately yesterday after I had finished writing my first draft of my lame review of Catching Fire. Ever since… my stomach was in knots and I would find myself thinking, “I just need to read one more chapter.” Well eventually that lead to me reading over 250 pages within hours. I even had to drug myself with sleep aids to even try to get any sleep because I was so restless in the need to finish reading what happens to Katniss Everdeen. Even then, I kept reading up until the point where my eyelids could no longer stay open. As soon as I woke up this morning, the first thing I normally do is use the restroom and make my breakfast. Instead, I opened the book and read until I had to empty my bladder and I could no longer handle the hunger pains of my stomach.

Goodreads
[even my best friend had to make fun of me for how much I had read since I had just texted her about writing the blog post for Catching Fire]

I even tried to distract myself with eating breakfast and watching the summer season premiere of Pretty Little Liars… only to find myself glancing towards the book that lay on the desk in front of me. Yes, I have a weakness. I don’t know if you can tell… but I fell in the love with book. It took this moment… this book, to finally understand that I wasn’t disappointed in the series… I was just waiting for the moment to where I can finally tell myself I loved it.

“It takes ten times as long to put yourself back together as it does to fall apart.”

Katniss is in the hands of District 13 while Peeta is captured and taken prisoner in the Capitol. District 13 uses Katniss as the face of the rebellion and President Snow uses Peeta to completely unhinge Katniss. I think I have underestimated Katniss’s character, kind of like she does herself. And was even thrown for a loop with Peeta about half way through the book. I think it was obvious these characters were made for each other because they are complete opposites. Even though I started to hate Peeta at some point, but I knew it that he would always be the boy who loved the girl that he saved from hunger.

“You’re still trying to protect me. Real or not real,” he whispers.
“Real,” I answer. “Because that’s what you and I do, protect each other.”

I think at some point, I had expected more from Gale. The best friend, the confidant, the man whom she thought she couldn’t live without. So to say he was a little disappointing is putting it nicely, but who can compete with Peeta who has on many levels saved Katniss over and over again. Told her he loved her and didn’t ever waver from that notion.  Well… until they hijacked his memories that is. I think you can tell that I was more involved in the love between Peeta and Katniss than anything else. That usually seems to be the case with a lot of books that I read. It’s probably because she was so clueless about what she felt that she didn’t realize all these things that she did for him were out of love.

The frustrations of never knowing who to trust in the book was kind of funny. Just when I was thinking one thing, it’s spun a different way. I really liked the plot of this book, but I was somewhat thrown when Finnick became “unstable.” I don’t think I remember the point where he became that way… maybe it was bypassed. [shrugs] This book finally had me emotionally invested in everything that was going on. I was pleasantly surprised. But somewhat bummed out that it took the last book to kind of change my mind on how I felt about the series as a whole. I was also kind of hoping that the epilogue would have been just a tad bit longer, but I’ll take what I can get because I was happy about the ending.

Now I’m on the search for another book series to start reading. Any suggestions?!

10 thoughts on “Mockingjay | Suzanne Collins

  1. So glad you liked the Hunger Games books! I completely fell in love with the series, and like you, pretty much read them straight through. I wrote a seriously long and in depth review on the series for one of my reading classes lol. I could literally spend HOURS discussing Hunger Games. But I will stop before I start. I will leave you with…Peeta is one of my absolutely favorite literay heroes 😀 and make sure you see the movie. They actually did quite an amazing job.

    I would suggest for your next series…Percy Jackson by Rick Riordan. He is half Demi-God (son of Poseidon) and the series follows him and his friend fighting evil. I love the series. I considered it one of my favorites with Hunger Games and City of Bones.

    I have been seriously slacking in the reading area. Although since my living room is currently over flowing with books from my classroom, you wouldn’t know haha. One of my goals this summer is to catch up! Happy reading!

    1. Peeta definitely is my favorite. Hopeless romantic over here. 😀 One of the girls I work with was like Peeta is such a bitch. To me, I think he is the most amazing character ever, to confess his love like that. He makes me swoon for sure.

      I’m almost scared to watch the movie. So many people have told me it wasn’t that great. 😐 But I will probably watch it on my next day off… which is next Friday. lol.

      I’ve been pretty reclusive lately. I mean… I went from being four books behind on the goodreads challenge and now I’m a book ahead. So all I’ve been doing is shutting myself out from the world unless I have to go to work. In such a weird funk. But hey, I’m getting some reading done. hahaha. My whole blog has been nothing but reviews on books.

  2. Oh look! I made a cameo! 😀 lol

    I’m glad you liked the series in the end, now you can watch the movies :). I personally wish she would have left off the epilogue. I think the last lines of the last chapter were the perfect ending, but that’s just me.Ok, now onto new series for you to read.

    The Wicked Lovely series by Melissa Marr was pretty good. It’s about fairies, but not the glittery, fairy dust toting kind. It’s more the get-you-to-dance-until-your-feet-fall-off-and-make-you-think-you’re-enjoying-it kind. It’s a tad dark, but I liked it. Anyways, it’s like five books long and it is already completed.

    Or there’s the Morganville Vampire series, which is one of my favorites. Vampires. In. Texas. Enough said :). It’s like 15 books long and almost complete (the books are relatively short). I think there’s only one more book that has to come out. P.S.~ Myrnin is AWESOME.

    If you’re up for a little high fantasy, which is not normally my cup of tea, I HIGHLY recommend the Mistborn Trilogy by Brandon Sanderson, it will blow your mind. Everything is connected. Everything. My brother told me to read it, and I was skeptical, but it is now one of my favorite series, like, ever, and I will totally read anything Sanderson puts out (haha, I said “puts out”).

    I’m sure there’s more, but I don’t want to overwhelm you 🙂 I want to read the Luxe series, so I can’t wait to hear what you have to say about it. Happy reading! (Ebeth totally stole that from me btw. lol)

    1. I love you, but I did not steal that ;p I have been signing off reviews on fan fiction sites with happy writing for years Lol I have Mist born on my ‘ to read’ category. I am kinda focused on Carl Hiaasen right now though in preparation for his signing Friday 😀

      1. So cool that you’re going to a signing, I may be a little jealous 🙂

        And “happy writing” is totally different than “happy reading”. They’re two completely different verbs. Love you too, by the way 😉

    2. You know, now that you mentioned it, it could have gone either way. She could have not done the epilogue or she could have made it longer. lol. I do have the Wicked Lovely books… or at least one of them anyway. So that is definitely on my list. I need to go through my nook and my actual stack of books and see what I want to go through first before I start with a completely new series. lol.

      I have been trying to get through the Luxe series for a while now. So this is like my third time re-reading the first book. lol. So ridiculous. 😀

      I have to say, I always go through books that you’ve marked on your to-read list like everyday. Hahaha.

      1. It’s funny you say that, because I noticed 🙂 Lol I even tell Andy, “Look, Christina’s been through my Goodreads again!”. It’s ok, I stalk you on Goodreads too 😉

      2. I feel like a total dunce for not mentioning this before, but you should read Glass Girl and Perfect Glass by Laura Anderson Kurk. In fact, everyone should read them. It should be mandatory. They’re that good.

Leave a Reply

