Books I've Read

Pride and Prejudice and Zombies | Jane Austen and Seth Grahame-Smith

Pride and Prejudice and ZombiesBarnes and Noble Overview

“It is a truth universally acknowledged that a zombie in possession of brains must be in want of more brains.”   So begins Pride and Prejudice and Zombies, an expanded edition of the beloved Jane Austen novel featuring all-new scenes of bone-crunching zombie mayhem. As our story opens, a mysterious plague has fallen upon the quiet English village of Meryton—and the dead are returning to life! Feisty heroine Elizabeth Bennet is determined to wipe out the zombie menace, but she’s soon distracted by the arrival of the haughty and arrogant Mr. Darcy. What ensues is a delightful comedy of manners with plenty of civilized sparring between the two young lovers—and even more violent sparring on the blood-soaked battlefield. Can Elizabeth vanquish the spawn of Satan? And overcome the social prejudices of the class-conscious landed gentry? Complete with romance, heartbreak, swordfights, cannibalism, and thousands of rotting corpses, Pride and Prejudice and Zombies transforms a masterpiece of world literature into something you’d actually want to read.

Wow… I really had to push myself to finish this one. I knew that reading Jane Austen is a little hard to get through, just because it’s really slow… but my lord, I don’t think my tiny little brain could take more of the classic novel. Even with the added zombies and fighting scenes. Now from what I gathered… this is supposed to be a comedy, but with all the “big” non-essential words that were used and them not being a part of my vocabulary… I rarely got it the punch line. I know, I’m an idiot. lol.

“How pleasant it is to spend an evening in this way! I declare after all there is no enjoyment like reading!”

"Mr. Darcy watched Elizabeth and her sisters work their way outward, beheading zombie after zombie as they went." Illustration from the book.
“Mr. Darcy watched Elizabeth and her sisters work their way outward, beheading zombie after zombie as they went.” Illustration from the book.

But I have to say, I did enjoy quite a lot of the scenes, like when Elizabeth kicks Darcy into the mantel. He was declaring his love to her and she just kicks his ass and tells him everything that is wrong with him while doing it. I mean, who wouldn’t want the opportunity to do that to someone they despise. And when Elizabeth ripped out the hearts of Katherine de Bourgh’s ninjas. That was kind of cool.

“You will excuse me for saying so, but I have never seen a zombie’s head taken off by words– nor do I ever expect to.”

Now for my own sake, I started watching the 1980’s BBC mini series on Netflix of Pride and Prejudice, just to really see what the actual Pride and Prejudice is about without all the zombie… dojo… deadly arts crap in it. I have to say, watching it is a lot more enjoyable than reading it. So if you try and read the original version and find that you just can’t do it, watch the little mini series, it pretty much follows the book… minus you know… the zombies.

She remembered the lead ammunition in her pocket and offered it to him. “Your balls, Mr. Darcy?” He reached out and closed her hand around them, and offered, “They belong to you, Miss Bennet.”

Yeah, I’m a little childish for putting the above quote… but you have to admit, it is kind of humorous even if it is a little juvenile humor. 😀 You giggled… don’t worry, I won’t judge.

Illustration from the book
“The creatures were crawling on their hands and knees, biting into ripe heads of cauliflower, which they had mistaken for stray brains.” Illustration from the book

And apparently there is a prequel to this book by Steve Hockensmith called Dawn of the Dreadfuls and that is when the plague actually starts creating zombies and the Bennet sisters learn the deadly arts from their warrior father and the master. Then there is a sequel to the Pride and Prejudice and Zombies called Dreadfully Ever After, also by Steve Hockensmith, and it is supposed to be about Elizabeth and Darcy going off into wedded bliss, only for Darcy to get nipped by a dreadful and Elizabeth learns of an antidote that could save her husband’s life. The sequel actually sounds pretty interesting, but I will probably have to pass for now.

Only because I’m trying to get through a lot of the books already on my Nook and on my actual bookshelves, that I’ve been passing on the need to buy books as of now. That and because out of the 95 books that I bought on my Nook, only 17 of them are not a part of a series. I probably only have about one book that is a part of a series, so that is 78 series that I need to read… and if I only have one book per series, this gal is going to have to spend some money. So if I can hold off on that for as long as I can, I will. 😀

Now is this an OMG you need to read this?! No. Yes, the zombies make it part of the craze that is going on right now with all things supernatural, but to me, just read Jane Austen’s version if you can get through it. Everyone needs to read a classic every now and then. But, if you are in to it the whole zombie thang, then go for it. I would probably read it as a trilogy though.

What do you think about classical books being turned into monster driven reads? Do you think it kills the appeal of the classic? Because I can tell you, that watching Pride and Prejudice, I was half expecting a zombie to pop up somewhere even though I know it would never happen. And how are you supposed to talk to someone that wants to talk about Pride and Prejudice, when you have only read this version?

Stranger: So what did you think of Pride and Prejudice? Wasn’t it hilarious?

Me: Yeah, the zombies really complemented the humor of it all. I mean… how stupid are they? That’s cauliflower dumb dumbs… not brains! Am I right? [smiles]

Stranger: [Silently judging me… followed by them walking away, shaking their heads.]

Me: [sigh] Not again.

I hope that this never happens to me. lol. It’s probably the reason why I started watching the Pride and Prejudice… FOR THAT VERY SCENARIO.

Leave a Reply

