Books I've Read

The Witch’s Daughter | Paula Brackston

Barnes and Noble Overview

My name is Elizabeth Anne Hawksmith, and my age is three hundred and eighty-four years. If you will listen, I will tell you a tale of witches.  A tale of magic and love and loss.  A story of how simple ignorance breeds fear, and how deadly that fear can be.  Let me tell you what it means to be a witch.

In the spring of 1628, the Witchfinder of Wessex finds himself a true Witch. As Bess Hawksmith watches her mother swing from the Hanging Tree she knows that only one man can save her from the same fate: the Warlock Gideon Masters. Secluded at his cottage, Gideon instructs Bess, awakening formidable powers she didn’t know she had. She couldn’t have foreseen that even now, centuries later, he would be hunting her across time, determined to claim payment for saving her life.

In present-day England, Elizabeth has built a quiet life. She has spent the centuries in solitude, moving from place to place, surviving plagues, wars, and the heartbreak that comes with immortality. Her loneliness comes to an abrupt end when she is befriended by a teenage girl called Tegan. Against her better judgment, Elizabeth opens her heart to Tegan and begins teaching her the ways of the Hedge Witch. But will she be able to stand against Gideon—who will stop at nothing to reclaim her soul—in order to protect the girl who has become the daughter she never had?

Upon taking a break from my duties of editing a wedding that I shot last weekend, I decided it was time to put to rest this book that I’ve been reading for quite a while now. And dare I say, I had actually enjoyed this book. One of my friend’s had said to me that there really hasn’t been any books that I’ve read that I actually liked. Which he is quite right. Most of the books I have read as of recently have all been duds in my opinion. This one wasn’t “OMG I loved it and I think everyone should read it!” But it was something that I think a few people would like. I wasn’t entirely happy about the “flashbacks” in the book, because once I finally got into a groove of reading a section it was like okay now we’re back to the present and you need to remember what happened in the beginning. It was slightly distracting and I have a terrible memory, so that is a bad combination of things for me.

The flashbacks themselves were really good and detailed. From Elizabeth as a teenager watching her family slip away from her to a doctor with her own clinic to help the unfortunate and then moving into becoming a nurse, aiding fallen soldiers. It kept you interested. I somewhat wished instead of Elizabeth trying to convince Tegan with all the stories and such, it would have only been about Elizabeth and her life as a whole, but I understand the reasoning behind having the Tegan character to pull together all the loose ends. Plague and Witch trials… Jack the Ripper… and a country at war, it had so many historical references and fantasy that it would be a good book for many people to get in to.

Brava, Paula Brackston to be the first author in a long time to get a good review from me! 😀

Reading a lot of other’s reviews, there really weren’t that many people that just totally hated the book. Either people thought it was really good or they were like eh it was okay. I’m almost positive I got this book either as a freebie or I paid like $2.99 for it at some point. It has been sitting in my Nook library for a while now so who knows. But looking it up on the Barnes and Noble site, it is selling for $9.99.

Have you read this book? What did you think of it?

Leave a Reply

