Books I've Read

Game of Thrones | George R. R. Martin

Game of ThronesBarnes and Noble Overview

Long ago, in a time forgotten, a preternatural event threw the seasons out of balance. In a land where summers can last decades and winters a lifetime, trouble is brewing. The cold is returning, and in the frozen wastes to the north of Winterfell, sinister and supernatural forces are massing beyond the kingdom’s protective Wall. At the center of the conflict lie the Starks of Winterfell, a family as harsh and unyielding as the land they were born to. Sweeping from a land of brutal cold to a distant summertime kingdom of epicurean plenty, here is a tale of lords and ladies, soldiers and sorcerers, assassins and bastards, who come together in a time of grim omens.

Here an enigmatic band of warriors bear swords of no human metal; a tribe of fierce wildlings carry men off into madness; a cruel young dragon prince barters his sister to win back his throne; and a determined woman undertakes the most treacherous of journeys. Amid plots and counterplots, tragedy and betrayal, victory and terror, the fate of the Starks, their allies, and their enemies hangs perilously in the balance, as each endeavors to win that deadliest of conflicts: the game of thrones.

Here’s a little tidbit… I actually wrote this… like I don’t know, two weeks ago. Yeah… it’s just been chilling in my post queue for ever because I’m lazy. Just know that my opinion hasn’t changed and yes I have started the second book to this series. Just a little FYI before going into this. lol. What have I been doing… just the norm… watching tv shows… youtube videos… and sometimes reading. Oh the holidays! 😀

Oh yes… this girl went there. Only took me a damn month to finish it. Now… to my defense for why it took me so long… I photographed a wedding… did some portraits… so my spare time has been sitting in front of the computer editing photos. Really, no matter how much I wanted to read this book… photos came first. Okay not always… but for the most part!

Truth time here… I wasn’t so sure I was even going to like this book, let alone if I wanted to read the entire series. But my co-worker convinced me that I needed to read this book with her. And so I did and FINISHED all of it… that’s right Holly… I’m calling you out! 😀 I don’t know why I was so apprehensive about reading the series… could be because they turned it into an HBO series… could be because every book is about 800 pages long. Never the less… I took the plunge and was hella surprised and quite pleased.

I am into all things Kings… Queens… and the common people. I love books that are dated to these types of eras. So the fact that I doubted I would like this book is completely ridiculous. Because let’s face it… I LOVED it! It’s not hard to read… the 800 pages just kind of flew by, as fast as 800 pages can anyway. Now because this has been made into a tv series, LOTS of people talk about each episode and since apparently they went by the book… I’ve heard so many spoiler alerts but it didn’t change the fact that I loved this book. I have not had the pleasure of watching the show and don’t plan to until I’ve read all of the books that have been completed so far for the series. So… it could be a while.

Obviously, I’m a loyal fan of the House of Stark. How could you not? Especially since Eddard Stark was a man of honor! And the book is pretty much about his family. Either way, I really enjoyed all of the characters in the book. I know there were some complaints as to the role women played in the book but really… back then that’s exactly how they were treated or at least I can imagine that is how woman were treated back in an era like that. So please don’t be offended when you read all the things that are said about the woman characters. Because let’s be honest, we were just arm candy and things up until a couple generations ago. lol.

Now one of the things that I loved most was when Bad Lip Reading turned this into one of their little creations! It was hilarious and someone like myself, who has only read the book, enjoyed it so much. Honestly, whenever I think about the Game of Thrones, this is what pops into my head.

You’re welcome! I know you needed that in your life.

So do I think you need to read this book? Yes, if you like books that are set back in renaissance eras. If you are down for betrayal… action… and drama, this book is everything and more. Now the only thing is… are you okay reading something that is 800 pages.

One thought on “Game of Thrones | George R. R. Martin

Leave a Reply

