Books I've Read

Carnival of Souls | Melissa Marr

Carnival of SoulsIn a city of daimons, rigid class lines separate the powerful from the power-hungry. And at the heart of The City is the Carnival of Souls, where both murder and pleasure are offered up for sale. Once in a generation, the carnival hosts a deadly competition that allows every daimon a chance to join the ruling elite. Without the competition, Aya and Kaleb would both face bleak futures—if for different reasons. For each of them, fighting to the death is the only way to try to live.

All Mallory knows of The City is that her father—and every other witch there—fled it for a life in exile in the human world. Instead of a typical teenage life full of friends and maybe even a little romance, Mallory scans quiet streets for threats, hides herself away, and trains to be lethal. She knows it’s only a matter of time until a daimon finds her and her father, so she readies herself for the inevitable.While Mallory possesses little knowledge of The City, every inhabitant of The City knows of her. There are plans for Mallory, and soon she, too, will be drawn into the decadence and danger that is the Carnival of Souls.

Yeah… this is not the second book of the Game of Thrones series. I had illusions that I would actually finish the second book in November and I then start and finish the third book in December. Umm… an illusion is pretty accurate. lol. So I decided to let it take a backseat, and found another book that’s been on my queue forever. Let’s face it, I’m not going to lose this Goodreads Challenge. With only two books left to finish it. Psssh.

I was somewhat confused in the beginning because it moved pretty fast and I couldn’t keep up with what was going on. There are two stories that entwine with one another towards the end. Kaleb, a low level daimon, and Aya, a ruling-caste daimon, both have secrets that they have to keep hidden in order to survive. The competition offers a way out for them both. Aya, wants to rule The City and make changes necessary to their survival…. however, females don’t rule. She knows that the winner of the competition earns the right to be on the government council, until the Ruler changes the prize and says that if Aya wins, she will have the honor of breeding with him. Something that she knows she just can not do and has never wanted to do.

Kaleb, is a paid assassin, on the job to find the Rulers long lost daughter, Mallory, and eventually kill her when the time is right. Kaleb had no intentions of falling in love with her. She thinks she is human and that the daimons are out to harm her father, a witch that took her in when her mother tried desperately to change Mallory’s fate. Without giving himself away, Kaleb tries to balance keeping an eye out on Mallory and trying to work his way up in the competition.

Eventually Aya and Kaleb find themselves losing at every turn, so together they take matters into their own hands.

I did not know what to really expect from this book. Well one, I thought that it was just a stand alone book and it probably could have been until I got to the part that does the whole …. lead off. WTF. lol. I really got into it about half way through the book. Everything seems to be changing in a blink of an eye and everyone has something to lose. I enjoyed it, and really I just want to know what happens next.

I mean, isn’t that something that we all want in a book… a conclusion. lol. Let me tell you, I have looked everywhere in search to find out when the next book comes out. I need to know! And what sucks is that I will more than likely forget about the second book and will never know what happens in the end because I don’t keep up with stuff like this. [I know… LAZY!]

Do I think you should read it… yeah, its a quick read but at the same time I don’t think that it’s OMG you need to run out and get it! It’s one of those… eh, if you need something different to read, then this might do the trick. I’m almost positive I purchased this book while it was like $2.99 or less. On Barnesandnoble.com, it says it’s $11.99 for the eBook but I’m sure you could get it for less somewhere!

Leave a Reply

