Books I've Read

A Clash of Kings | George R. R. Martin

A Clash of KingsBarnes and Noble Overview

A comet the color of blood and flame cuts across the sky. And from the ancient citadel of Dragonstone to the forbidding shores of Winterfell, chaos reigns. Six factions struggle for control of a divided land and the Iron Throne of the Seven Kingdoms, preparing to stake their claims through tempest, turmoil, and war. It is a tale in which brother plots against brother and the dead rise to walk in the night. Here a princess masquerades as an orphan boy; a knight of the mind prepares a poison for a treacherous sorceress; and wild men descend from the Mountains of the Moon to ravage the countryside. Against a backdrop of incest and fratricide, alchemy and murder, victory may go to the men and women possessed of the coldest steel . . . and the coldest hearts. For when kings clash, the whole land trembles.

George RR Martin as SantaTruth be told… I don’t remember much of the whole book. It all just started to run together. Two months of reading this damn thing and all I wanted was to just watch the series. lol. Never the less, it was still intriguing. Like always, a lot of people die.

I always looked forward to reading the chapters of Tyrion Lannister. I think of all the characters he is the most entertaining and cunning.

“I will not suffer to be called a whore!”

Why, sister, he never claims Jaime paid you. Tyrion made a show of glancing over the writing again.

Chapters I did not look forward to reading… Jon Snow. I’m sorry, I’m sure he has a very valuable part in this book but good grief… I have to really push myself to make it through his chapters. I just… I can’t. lol. Even in the first book, he was the character that I didn’t connect with. Maybe that is the feeling you are supposed to get because that is how he feels 99% of the time. [shrugs]

Character that I wanted to see more dead than alive… Theon Greyjoy. I said it. I’m sure a lot of people would agree with me because that little bi*** of a boy was annoying! lol.

The book started to turn a little weird because they are introducing magic and sorcery, and all that jazz. Stuff coming out of a woman’s special place that shouldn’t have been there in the first place. I mean… shit got WEIRD. lol. You would read it and you would get that “WTF” look on your face.

I give it to Martin, the war scenes were some of the best actions described in the books. From Davos to Tyrion, it was like I was there watching it from above.

Again, I can totally see how this book was made into a tv series because it reads like script. But either way, I will make it through the rest of the series. I just hope that the third book, A Storm of Swords, is a heck of a lot more entertaining. Almost tempted to download this book on Audible.com because according to my nook… this beast of a book is over a 1000 pages. So that means I’ll finish it in… oh… 5 months?! I see 2014’s Goodreads Challenge being… well… challenged. lol.

And can you tell that I really don’t remember much of the book. Hahaha. The books are great and entertaining but my little mind can not focus on that subject matter for THAT long. So I’m going to definitely put Gretchen McNeil’s book 3:59 ahead of A Storm of Swords for the time being.

Have you read this series? Did you read it all the way through?

One thought on “A Clash of Kings | George R. R. Martin

  1. Tyrion is totally my favorite character in the show! He’s, like, the only bright spot in a cast of characters that I wouldn’t mind snuffing out with my bare hands. Lol. Andy and I just downgraded our cable package so that we could add HBO and be able to watch season 3 when it starts in March. It seems like each book is a season of the show, so I could probably safely read the first two books. If I do it will definitely be on my kindle 🙂

Leave a Reply

