Make Up

Last of the 2013 Empties

Hi all!

I know it’s been quite a while. Life has been pretty… stressful lately. Maybe a blog post or two to explain later… but for now, to finish out 2013’s empties and to throw this trash away!! We will start with Hair, Body and Face.

IMG_0001 copyI FINALLY finished up the last of my bottles of Rainkissed Leaves from Bath and Body Works!! Still my favorite smell of all the scents. Bath and Body’s description of Rainkissed Leaves is a crisp scent, inspired by lush, green leaves refreshed by cool, summer rain. I also used up Into The Wild, a smoothing body scrub from Bath and Body Works. Smelled amazing! The perfume is composed as an exotic blend of fruit, intoxicating flowers and woody notes reinterpreting an escape into nature and wilderness of exciting jungle. [description taken from Fragrantica.com] I wish they would come back out with this body wash/scrub!!

IMG_0003 copyCan you tell that I like the Boots Expert Sensitive Gentle Refreshing Toner? My skin has a way of breaking out over everything… so to say that it’s gentle is an under statement. I don’t have any problems with this toner and I definitely recommend it. You can get Boots at Target if interested. Hmmm… the Almay Moisturizing Makeup Remover. Not a fan. Again, everything about my face is sensitive, including around my eyes and whenever I used this it stung! I use waterproof masacra and if it can’t take that off without killing my eyes… I want nothing to do with it but I used it up!

IMG_0005 copyTwo Dove Refresh + Care Dry Shampoos, love this stuff. I know a lot of people said that it was heavy but I liked it. I have super thick hair and it does the job and keeps my hair looking fresh throughout the day. Now… the Suave Professionals Dry Shampoo is a completely different story. The smell was so damn overpowering! I mean… I still used it up but damn and it didn’t hold up as far as keeping my hair looking decent.

IMG_0006 copySkintimate Skin Therapy shave gel… it was okay. I, very rarely, use shave gel. However, my mom gave us a care package and in it was shave gels so I used it. It was nice while it lasted. lol. Up and Up’s Gentle Skin Cleanser, which is a dupe I guess of the Cetaphil Cleanser. Super gentle, great if you have extra sensitive skin. Never broke me out. VO5 Herbal Escapes Shampoo and Conditioner… actually didn’t use this as directed. lol. I used this to make my own shaving crème, even though it wasn’t a crème. But it worked and smelled great. And I’m almost out of the homemade shaving crème so I thought I would include these.

IMG_0017 copyIt’s not often I finish a nail product, but Out the Door top coat is hands down the best fast drying top coat I’ve ever used!! I mean, I love it so much I got the HUGE bottle of it at my Sally’s Beauty Store. lol. That’s saying something!! Arrid XX deodorant… smells nice. Kept me dry but I think that this kind of deodorant stains the underarms. So I only use this when I’m at work and then I use Dove on my off days. Avon hand cream, got this as part of a little gift and I actually really liked it. It was nice and thick and did its job. Couldn’t ask for more.

IMG_0009 copySweet Pea from Bath and Body Works. It’s not my favorite scent. I used it because my mother in law gave it to me. I use to love this scent when I was younger but I think that it’s just too sweet. Bath and Body description: mix of juicy raspberries & pear kissed by soft pink petals. It’s just not a scent that I like on me.

On to makeup related products:

IMG_0013 copyFirst up is Mac’s Charged Water… this was purchased by mistake. I was going for Fix + and ended up with that. It was okay. Nothing special. I would spray it onto my foundation sponge, just to get it wet. Took me a long time to finish that darn bottle off. Honestly, kind of a waste of money. Next is the Neutrogena Healthy Skin Glow Sheers Illuminating Tinted Moisturizer. This actually had pretty good coverage and lasted pretty much all day when set with powder. If you are an oily mess like myself, you will definitely want to set it with powder because it made my face look like an oil slick. The Pur Minerals Under Control Oil Regulating Gel was a nice primer. Didn’t add anything to face but at the same time, I felt like it didn’t regulate oil all that well either. lol. It did break me out a bit but with continuous use, my skin did get use to it. Maybelline The Colossal Volum’ Express mascara, by far my favorite mascara I have tried so far. It is a wet formula, which I really look for in a mascara. The only downside that I found with it was that the brush head was massive and I found myself getting it on my eyelids a lot, but it didn’t stop the fact that I loved it. The Maybelline Mega Plush Volum’ Express mascara… while this was another wet formula, I just couldn’t bring myself to liking it. The head on this thing was big as well and it was flexible which means I got it EVERYWHERE! I’m a bit of a mess when I put makeup on. lol.

IMG_0014 copy

The Revlon ColorStay Whipped foundation, ummm… love/hate relationship with this foundation. It was nice as a full coverage but it was so thick that by the time I got to the end of it, most of it was all dried up and unusable. Cover Girl Last Blast, I still have no idea why people like this mascara. I think I just don’t like the plastic bristles. I don’t know. I just didn’t like it. I didn’t think that it helped making my lashes stand out. It was kind of a MEH product.  Lastly, of the makeup that I used up is the Maybelline Fit Me Bronzer in Medium. It was an okay bronzer. I think that it might have been a little too light for my skin tone, which is saying something because I’m the palest Filipino alive. lol. It was nice while it lasted though.

Travel Size and Samples:

IMG_0018 copyWonderstruck by Taylor Swift, I actually REALLY liked this scent. I think that it is a great fall/winter scent. I would purchase the bottle if I didn’t have fifty million other scents I need to use up. Olay’s Fresh Effects Shine Shine Go Away, didn’t really do what it says it would do. Which is keep shine at bay. It was a nice smelling face wash but totally not worth it, in my case anyway. Two bath and body travel hand sanitizers, they smelled nice. lol. I’m not really picky when it comes to hand sanitizers. A sample of Yes to Cucumbers Soothing On the Go Facial Towelette, it was okay. I like the smell of cucumbers but not so much in this towelette. Lastly, Julep’s One Step Polish Remover Pad, these were really nice. I more than likely won’t pay to buy them but they did a really great job of taking off my nail polish.

Items I just want in the trash!

IMG_0019 copy

Okay, so this Skintimate shave gel is pretty much completely freaking full. It fell out of my shower caddy and the cap broke and I could not for the life of me figure out how to get the product to come out. So it is getting ditched! Beside that is Clinique’s To Be Happy. I’ve had this roller ball for a very long time and it just got to the point where it didn’t smell anything like the perfume, so it was time it made its way to the trash. IMG_0021 copyJordana Twist and Shine Moisturizing Balm Stain… had I known that where was going to be glitter in this, I would not have bought it. I don’t like anything that has glitter on it and this has a way of once the product is gone you are left with glitter pieces all over your lips and I’m not a fan. Definitely is not cute to look at. IMG_0022 copyNext to that is the Revlon Colorburst Lipstick in Icy Nude, again another item that had I had known that it had glitter I wouldn’t have bought it. I don’t like the gritty texture of it and it does the same as the Jordana Twist and Shine. IMG_0025 copyLastly, the last piece of trash that I saved 😀 is my Burt’s Bees Lip Balm in the original flavor I guess you can say. Ummm… this guy apparently got into a fight in the washer and dryer. I’m okay with because I have a ton of other lip balms that need to be used up but damn… that’s not the way I was hoping this guy would go out. lol.

So that it is… everything from 2013 that I used up and just wanted to get rid of. There are a ton of new products coming out in 2014, a lot that I probably will not be buying purely for the fact that I still have drawers of makeup that I need to use up. But we shall see! I hope everyone has gotten through some of their makeup that they’ve had forever. It’s not easy when you don’t wear makeup often, so I commend those who go through makeup on the daily!

I will probably do a 2014 Empties post in either April or May. We shall see!

Leave a Reply

